We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Quaint Hotel but Noisy and Self-Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice Quaint Hotel but Noisy and Self-Service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Hotel Boutique Grand Central is newly renovated, very clean and quaint. The lobby is very simple, with self check-in and check out. Free internet access, which is greatly appreciated. Expect a clean room and friendly, but minimal staff. The room is comfortable (small, but this is NY) and has a good layout with modern plugs, charging stations and tv. I found the hotel not to have great sound barriers as I was awoken both nights by the very loud trucks on the street below my window. Another surprise was the inability for anyone to call a cab for you or to have one available when you leave. The lone lobby attendent is able to schedule car service, but if you want a cab, you must wander around outside to find one on your own. Not really convenient if you need a cab early for a ride to the airport.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TeamMartin3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    175
    37
    9
    11
See reviews for
63
173
49
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Global traveller
Level Contributor
142 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

As others have mentioned, this is two hotels in one. The Boutique hotel reception is on the second floor off Lexington while the Club Quarters entrance is on the ground floor off 45th. Other than that, both hotels use the same facilities. Rooms are compact but have everything needed for the business traveler. Free water and wifi in the rooms while nibbles and drinks are on the top floor. Lots of power plugs, including USB charging points, and a multi port streaming device to send your content to the wall mounted screen. Only complaint was the street noise that never seemed to end in my third floor room.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phil_the_flamingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! Let me start this off by saying that this is only getting four stars bc the room was a little small for my liking. But this is New York, so what do you expect? Found this deal on an online booking site and paid $112 /night... Roughly $150 after taxes. They let us check in early (we arrived at 6am) for an additional $38 (well worth it for my sleep!) and let us check out of the room late at 3pm for $35 more. All in all it was just under $200 for one night which in NYC, is pretty good, here's why :
-Location! This was central to pretty much every where I needed to be... Times square, upper east side, both are only 2 stops away. Tons of shops and restaurants as well as grand central nearby. Terrific view of the Chrysler building from the 27th floor.
-Free bottled water and capucinnos in the lounge. Also free Wi-Fi, free iPad for loan, and a fitness center, plus you can have fitness equipment delivered to your room. Free anything in NYC is a steal!
-Service! SERVICE! No eye rolling here! Even at 6am, the girl who checked us in was pleasant and sweet. I did not encounter one person who seemed like they were unhappy. My phone calls prior to my arrival were answered promptly and I generally found them to be super helpful.
Overall, super clean, chic, modern, minimalistic design. This is a great deal and I will definitely be staying there again!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Once arriving at Hotel via town car, we were able to walk and use subway for entire stay. Not one taxi. Great local. Great room...will return. No hassle stay. Each floor has self-serve guest amenity closet. Need extra pillows or blanket? Towels or an ironing board? Call no. It's waiting for you in the amenities closet. The lounge on the 27th floor in stock with complimentary snacks, coffee, and soft drinks with indoor lounge area and a large outdoor rooftop lounge. Across the street from Grand Central giving you complete access to entire city via train. Minutes from Time Square, Herald Square, 30 Rock and no more than one transfer from any location desired.

Room Tip: The rooms are somewhat small but very ergonomic. We were able to fit a roll away into out double and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

This is a nice newer hotel, very close to Grand Central. We were able to walk to Times Square, Empire State Building, Macy's and Rockefeller Center. We checked in at the unattended kiosk on Lexington, there was something strange about the locking doors so I had to fiddle around to get my husband in. The actual lobby is around the corner and there is NO SIGNAGE saying Hotel Boutique, they need to put up a sign. We used that entrance as the Lexington doors locked up the next time we tried that entrance. Use the electronic card to make the elevator work. Very nicely organized room with everything we needed including bottled water right outside the door. My husband enjoyed the exercise room. Nice shower and we had a small refrigerator and microwave along with a coffee maker. Comfortable bed, pleasant city view from 5th floor. The price was good and they weren't gouging during the SuperBowl. We would definitely stay here again, it was very comfortable and the cleaning staff and front desk personnel in lobby were courteous. It would be nice if the lobby personnel could keep some extra coffee and creamer on hand, had to request it a few times since we did not use room service during our stay. We did not go up to the restaurant so cannot review it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maleaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014 via mobile

When we visit NYC, we looking for a clean, safe place to stay at a reasonable price. We got all that we were looking for here. Booked the room through Priceline and got great rate. The main entrance to the hotel is on 45th street, the southeast corner off of Lexington. My GPS had me making a right off of Lexington and after several trips around the block without success,parked the car and walked. Sign on hotel in Jan,2014 still had "Club Quarters" . The room was very comfortable,clean and had free wifi! We stayed MLK weekend and learned thAt the company that the hotel uses for their breakfast does not deliver on week ends or holidays. The guest lounge on the 27th floor was comfortable though, with newspapers and computers available for guests. Times Square is a brisk 15 minute walk. The subway stop at grand central, just across Lexington, with many lines available, made it very easy for us to get around the city.because the hotel parking does not offer in/ out privileges,we parked our car at a friends apt in Brooklyn for the five days we stayed here. Will definitely use the property again when visiting the city.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Great central location. New and clean. Parking close to hotel with reduced fees. Amazing views from the lounge on the 27th floor, but not so much from our room. Free breakfast. Complete gym. Not much staff and not really any formal lobby. There is only a little desk at the entrance, but it suits it's purpase fine.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissForv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#108 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#137 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#16 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#126 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique At Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique At Grand Central

Property: Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Address: 447 Lexington Ave, 128 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017-3908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique At Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the corner of Lexington Avenue and East 45th Street, the contemporary Hotel Boutique is directly across the street from Grand Central, the hub of transportation within Manhattan and the Metropolitan area, and just one short block from Park Avenue, two blocks from Madison Avenue, and three blocks to Fifth Avenue. The Theatre District, Times Square, and Central Park are all within walking distance. Step off the hustle and bustle of Lexington Avenue into our glass elevator to access our stylish lobby on the mezzanine level of the hotel with instant check-in and 24/7 Concierge services. Adjacent to the lobby, you'll find a versatile modern meeting room and lounge with complimentary WiFi, state-of-the-art computer work stations, and wireless printing capabilities. This is the ideal space to plan your day, hold a formal or informal meeting, work, socialize, or relax. Elegant rooms are outfitted with premium bedding, LED TVs, latest in-room technology, eco-friendly bath fixtures and oversized windows showcasing views of Grand Central and Lexington Avenue. Guests also enjoy unlimited chilled, purified bottled water and fitness room. We proudly offer the comfort and class expected by the most discerning business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Boutique At Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing