We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central...in fact Grand Central”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Ranked #136 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Central...in fact Grand Central”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I think the best thing about this hotel is the location, right next to Grand Central Station. You can get to almost all places of interest from there. The hotel is only 2 minutes walk if that.

We stayed there for 7 nights in a 4th floor room and everything was fine. The room is spacious enough. It had a mini fridge, coffee making machine (you may have to tip the cleaner each day if you want to get more than one decaf and one normal coffee capsule for the machine), a decent TV and an ipod docking station.

The wifi in the room is excellent. The aircon unit is loud on the hi setting, but bearable on the low setting. If you don't like street noise then it may be too noisy on the 4th floor, but it was fine for us. There was no mini safe in the room which was a problem for 'er indoors.

Bathroom was clean and everything worked, and the shower was hot when you wanted it to be hot.

There is a nice 'executive room' on the 27th floor, with free coffee and internet-machines. And there is a decent balcony where you can take in the buzz of the city and gaze at the office workers opposite.

There is free filter water and bottles in the corridors on every floor.

The hotel itself is a bit soulless, it seems to be more of a business hotel than a holiday hotel. It depends what you want from it, but we thought it was fine. The hotel also has a free printing service for printing your boarding pass for the way home.

Good value for central Manhattan.

Room Tip: I suppose the higher you are, the less noise you hear from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lemkinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    193
    40
    10
    11
See reviews for
67
192
49
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Maine
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfect for a couple. The room is small but very well laid out with everything you would need. The free bottled water was a nice plus too. Very clean and conveniently located. Staff was very pleasant

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

If you are looking for a excellent hotel near of Grand Central Station, I highly recommend this one. Rooms are clean and modern and room service is very fast. If you need any help, ask for Alberto, he helped us a lot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isadora G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This was the cheapest hotel I could find in Manhattan last week (first week of May), and I booked it as a (blind) Express Deal on Priceline, so I didn't know what I was going to get until I paid. Boy was I pleasantly surprised! It's small, but the staff were professional and helpful, and the property is modern and well-maintained. I arrived 3hrs early and was allowed to check-in immediately. I asked if a free upgrade might be considered (they have 3 types of rooms and I wanted one with a kitchenette). This request was graciously considered and granted. My room was on the 6th floor, right across from the elevators. The noise level (both from within and without) was relatively low for my 2-night stay, a Wed & Thurs. My first impressions upon entering the room were: modern feel, well laid out, well-appointed, clean, small but not cramped. (Of note, I was traveling solo with one medium suitcase, but I think it would have remained comfortable for 2.) The bathroom was spacious, considering the overall square footage, with nice quality toiletries (loved the pocket door). I immediately called Guest Services upon entering because I had some trouble turning the lights on (I know, sounds stupid, but the switches weren't working with a simple flick.) A maintenance man showed up within 2mins and was very pleasant and helpful. Standing back, the things that delighted included: Wifi was included in my room rate (altho it doesn't offer an excellent speed), a purified water station is located on each floor of the hotel (you can fill as many bottles as you like), the room had a gadget that allowed you to stream content to the TV (cool), the bed was VERY comfortable, and a mini Keurig was included with the mini frig and microwave. Re: location, I was in town for a meeting at the UN, so the hotel's address was perfect for me. Surrounding area isn't beautiful but is safe, and Grand Central is right around the corner, so guests have quick access to the metro. When it was time to check out, the hotel was happy to hold my bag for a few hours. All in all, did I get my money's worth? I think the property was over-priced, but I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it compared to the other (stupidly expensive) properties on the market. Great visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face Lexington Avenue (busy, noisy street). And the higher up, the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Happy_Nomad_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

We arrived early the room was ready however the receptionist asked us for an early check inn fee . Customer service was poor as some of the receptionist would not say hi which i believe is the least you can do for a 280usd room . Altough the room was small , it was clean and provided good amenities such as usb plug. Hotel is well located

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DIDIER819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
153 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

The hotel is almost ideal! Very modern, convenient, the room was cozy and silent. Cleaning of number was simply fantastic. As well as in the sekh hotels of this network in a corridor there are free small bottles with water and a laundry. There is a verandah on the 28th floor with free snacks and coffee.
If workers a reception are more hospitable to lodgers and attentive (about a verandah on a roof nobody told, found) that the hotel will be simply ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My 6 year old son and I went to NYC to see his first Bway show. We stayed here because of the cost and location. I was thrilled with the experience. If you like to be pampered and doted on, this is not your hotel. If you are an independent traveler who likes to come back to a functional, comfortable room, this is your place. Yes, the rooms are small but they were very clean and quiet. I would say it's a bit like what you might expect if airplanes suddenly had sleeping cars - no wasted space yet everything you need is right there. We walked from Penn Station (far, but doable) and then took the subway everywhere else. The Grand Central terminal market is right across the street for things to pick up and bring in. My son wasn't feeling well so we ordered in Indian from Darbar for dinner (delicious) and it was charged right to the room. We also ordered in breakfast from the deli the next morning. I usually like to go out and experience of eating in NY, but we ate in the top floor lounge and enjoyed the city sights from far above.
I'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aselco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Centr...
#129 of 468 in New York City
591 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#52 of 468 in New York City
2,163 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#106 of 468 in New York City
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#47 of 468 in New York City
198 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#143 of 468 in New York City
1,286 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#123 of 468 in New York City
2,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Boutique At Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Boutique At Grand Central

Property: Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Address: 447 Lexington Ave, 128 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017-3908
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Boutique At Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the corner of Lexington Avenue and East 45th Street, the contemporary Hotel Boutique is directly across the street from Grand Central, the hub of transportation within Manhattan and the Metropolitan area, and just one short block from Park Avenue, two blocks from Madison Avenue, and three blocks to Fifth Avenue. The Theatre District, Times Square, and Central Park are all within walking distance. Step off the hustle and bustle of Lexington Avenue into our glass elevator to access our stylish lobby on the mezzanine level of the hotel with instant check-in and 24/7 Concierge services. Adjacent to the lobby, you'll find a versatile modern meeting room and lounge with complimentary WiFi, state-of-the-art computer work stations, and wireless printing capabilities. This is the ideal space to plan your day, hold a formal or informal meeting, work, socialize, or relax. Elegant rooms are outfitted with premium bedding, LED TVs, latest in-room technology, eco-friendly bath fixtures and oversized windows showcasing views of Grand Central and Lexington Avenue. Guests also enjoy unlimited chilled, purified bottled water and fitness room. We proudly offer the comfort and class expected by the most discerning business and leisure traveler. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Boutique At Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing