We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for sleeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Ranked #123 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Like my title says this hotel is great for sleeping.

The best feature I recall about this hotel was the bed, sheets, blanket. It was amazingly comfortable. I regret not looking for the brand name. This comment is justified by all the Pilots staying there. There are pilots constantly checking in / out.

Besides the above, and for the price paid, everything else was fairly average. I stayed in two different rooms during my stay and each one was tiny. The hotel is not your conventional hotel. In keeping with the pilot theme, the tiny lobby has 3 electronic check in screens. The top floor has a lounge area where there are snacks / coffee with tv screen, but the area is very bland with nobody there. no bar. There is also an outdoor area which has quite a good view of Lexington Avenue

This hotel is well suited to business people who simply need a comfortable bed to sleep in. I would not recommend this place for tourists looking for a bit NYC flair. It lacks vibe and social amenities.
Most of all for the price that I paid, I feel there is better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank speedyjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (630)
There are newer reviews for Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 630 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at Club Quarters on Wall Street and had a fantastic visit, so decided to opt for the grand central one on this occasion. On arrival, there were building works taking place, I explained to the reception that this wasn't mentioned to us when booking and that it wasn't too pleasing to look at or to hear drilling. The staff member on duty remarked that it wasn't pleasing for him either, clearly missing the point that we had paid to be there. I then told him that I thought it was quite rude and he did offer us complimentary breakfast for the three days we were there. They then took a security deposit, however neglected to inform me that it was going to ring fence money and so I had limited funds for my vacation. We checked out on Saturday and as of Tuesday morning, I still haven't received funds. The rooms were quite compact and had little character and not enough storage space for two people. It was comfortable but certainly not worth what we paid. Needless to say we won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jl7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

on of my best vacation in nyc was in this hotel ,the personnel was great and professionnel....thank u so very mutchhhh jean claud i had a great time !!!!! and i cant wait to go back to new york ..... i garanty u that i ll recomand this place to all my friends !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KING A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was surprised when I walked into the lobby that so much construction was still going on. With a lot of people and luggage and construction workers all in one tight space, there was a feeling of chaos.

Check-in was quick. The receptionist helped me with the machine and I went right upstairs. However, I felt like I didn't get much of an introduction to the hotel. It's only now that I'm back home that I'm finding out about the 27th floor lounge! I feel kind of mad that I didn't know about it! The scene was so crowded and chaotic that there wasn't much of a "welcome to our hotel and here's what we have to offer" attitude--even though the staff members were nice and polite.

My room was nice, but looked onto the air conditioning units. Fortunately it wasn't noisy, but it was a terrible view. Otherwise the room was well-appointed and comfortable. I loved the little formica table, which I used both as a desk and for eating a late dinner that I brought in.

Two other things that I wasn't so happy about: The elevators were slow, but maybe due to the construction. The other was not having an iron and ironing board in the room. They're down the hall in a closet, a little inconvenient because you have to get dressed to get them.

Convenience is no issue at all for this hotel and that's what I liked about it. I guess I was excited to try the newest member of the Club Quarters New York hotels and came a way a little disappointed. Maybe when the construction is over, things will feel more homey.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have stayed several times-check in is self service which is a real pain, staff is mostly foreign with accents, not responsive at all-needed a receipt for a cancelled reservation for which I was charged full room-called 4 days in a row including messg's for service mgr and never got call back, nor receipt after leaving my email with two folks who said they would handle it. Rooms are small, hallways tiny and claustrophobic. Tough to locate hotel as it's not well marked on 2nd floor to lobby.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamiaofthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I was very hesitant to stay here since I have never heard of Club Quarters and found a good deal on Hotwire before but was pleasantly surprised! I've stayed at many NYC hotels and you just can't beat the perks of Club Quarters - free wireless, free snacks all day, free drinks/water all day, club lounge. Rooms are extremely clean and designed to maximize space. My room was quiet and very comfortable. Lobby is no frills but how much time do you spend there anyways? Will definitely return.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

From the warm greeting and assistance by Robert on check-in, to the Club Quarters Living Room -- with terrace -- on the 27th floor, everything fully met or exceeded my expectations. The location put me easy walking distance to my conference at the United Nations and to all the resources around Grand Central. The room layout and overall design was outstanding, and everything I needed was right at my finger tips. Definitely will stay there again!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#138 of 468 in New York City
511 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#207 of 468 in New York City
1,488 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#51 of 468 in New York City
2,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown East
EVEN Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#24 of 468 in New York City
334 reviews
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#111 of 468 in New York City
2,156 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Address: 128 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3104
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #123 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £123 - £336 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Grand Central provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in New York's premier Midtown location, near Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Building and United Nations complex. The hotel offers many complimentary services including fast WiFi throughout, chilled, purified water stations with refillable water bottles, fitness center and access to the Club Living Room - a lounge-like area for socializing, relaxing, or working with inviting seating, computer workstations, and wireless network printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing