We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Efficient, Good Extras & Well Appointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Davidson, North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Efficient, Good Extras & Well Appointed”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Their Grand Central site is fairly new, and the rooms show this - modern but functional, very clean, large enough for business travel or couples (if you're used to European sizing). Great restaurant in "basement", OK gym area, nice lounge space.

I like the shower, larger than typical stall, nice bright lighting, not much closet space and lacking much of a desk for work - the movable work-surface thingy has more style than substance other than support for a laptop.

Had a Corporate rate just over $200 so great value to be had in Midtown, and self checkout is always appreciated. Since this is Midtown get a higher room if you want a quieter night sleep, even with the nice (softer) beds other reviewers mentioned.

Room Tip: Since this is Midtown get a higher room if you want a quieter night sleep, even with the nice (softe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FaSnizel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    281
    234
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
84
186
48
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Good location, friendly staff. They definitely cater to business travelers as lounge area had snacks, pop, water etc during the week but only coffee on the weekend. They have Three elevators but one was in service most of the time therefore wait for an elevator was quite long. Would recommend.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank cosmogirlOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Like my title says this hotel is great for sleeping.

The best feature I recall about this hotel was the bed, sheets, blanket. It was amazingly comfortable. I regret not looking for the brand name. This comment is justified by all the Pilots staying there. There are pilots constantly checking in / out.

Besides the above, and for the price paid, everything else was fairly average. I stayed in two different rooms during my stay and each one was tiny. The hotel is not your conventional hotel. In keeping with the pilot theme, the tiny lobby has 3 electronic check in screens. The top floor has a lounge area where there are snacks / coffee with tv screen, but the area is very bland with nobody there. no bar. There is also an outdoor area which has quite a good view of Lexington Avenue

This hotel is well suited to business people who simply need a comfortable bed to sleep in. I would not recommend this place for tourists looking for a bit NYC flair. It lacks vibe and social amenities.
Most of all for the price that I paid, I feel there is better value elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speedyjoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed at Club Quarters on Wall Street and had a fantastic visit, so decided to opt for the grand central one on this occasion. On arrival, there were building works taking place, I explained to the reception that this wasn't mentioned to us when booking and that it wasn't too pleasing to look at or to hear drilling. The staff member on duty remarked that it wasn't pleasing for him either, clearly missing the point that we had paid to be there. I then told him that I thought it was quite rude and he did offer us complimentary breakfast for the three days we were there. They then took a security deposit, however neglected to inform me that it was going to ring fence money and so I had limited funds for my vacation. We checked out on Saturday and as of Tuesday morning, I still haven't received funds. The rooms were quite compact and had little character and not enough storage space for two people. It was comfortable but certainly not worth what we paid. Needless to say we won't be returning any time soon.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jl7039
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

on of my best vacation in nyc was in this hotel ,the personnel was great and professionnel....thank u so very mutchhhh jean claud i had a great time !!!!! and i cant wait to go back to new york ..... i garanty u that i ll recomand this place to all my friends !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KING A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
massachusetts
Level Contributor
132 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

I was surprised when I walked into the lobby that so much construction was still going on. With a lot of people and luggage and construction workers all in one tight space, there was a feeling of chaos.

Check-in was quick. The receptionist helped me with the machine and I went right upstairs. However, I felt like I didn't get much of an introduction to the hotel. It's only now that I'm back home that I'm finding out about the 27th floor lounge! I feel kind of mad that I didn't know about it! The scene was so crowded and chaotic that there wasn't much of a "welcome to our hotel and here's what we have to offer" attitude--even though the staff members were nice and polite.

My room was nice, but looked onto the air conditioning units. Fortunately it wasn't noisy, but it was a terrible view. Otherwise the room was well-appointed and comfortable. I loved the little formica table, which I used both as a desk and for eating a late dinner that I brought in.

Two other things that I wasn't so happy about: The elevators were slow, but maybe due to the construction. The other was not having an iron and ironing board in the room. They're down the hall in a closet, a little inconvenient because you have to get dressed to get them.

Convenience is no issue at all for this hotel and that's what I liked about it. I guess I was excited to try the newest member of the Club Quarters New York hotels and came a way a little disappointed. Maybe when the construction is over, things will feel more homey.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leftwing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Have stayed several times-check in is self service which is a real pain, staff is mostly foreign with accents, not responsive at all-needed a receipt for a cancelled reservation for which I was charged full room-called 4 days in a row including messg's for service mgr and never got call back, nor receipt after leaving my email with two folks who said they would handle it. Rooms are small, hallways tiny and claustrophobic. Tough to locate hotel as it's not well marked on 2nd floor to lobby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lamiaofthelake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#131 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,106 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#224 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,026 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#115 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,740 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#21 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Address: 128 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3104
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Grand Central provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in New York's premier Midtown location, near Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Building and United Nations complex. The hotel offers many complimentary services including fast WiFi throughout, chilled, purified water stations with refillable water bottles, fitness center and access to the Club Living Room - a lounge-like area for socializing, relaxing, or working with inviting seating, computer workstations, and wireless network printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing