We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Midtown Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Midtown Gem”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

My stay here over the 4th of July weekend was really by lucky happenstance -- it was courtesy of a blind bid on William Shatner's favorite booking site! I could not have been more pleased; from the moment I checked in until my departure, the staff and hotel both exceeded my expectations. The location was ideal, and while the rooms are not overly spacious, I didn't feel cramped in the least. Total comfort (best hotel pillows I think I've ever slept on), and surprisingly quiet for a Midtown location. The unique CQ touches (like the Guest Closet, unlimited filtered water and fresh bottles, and the large/wonderful 27th-floor balcony) were so appealing. As I said to the delightful Christina at the front desk, I would make it a point to stay here again next time NYC is my destination, and not leave it to chance!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68_Adventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

579 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    235
    36
    15
    11
See reviews for
85
186
48
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Located in the heart of everything, new and fresh, with a big, elegant veranda with lots of tables and seating on the 27th floor. Great views. Cappuchino, latte, coffee, tea on demand and brewed fresh in the adjoining 27th floor "living room" with sofas, TV, computers etc. Even icy spring water on each floor.
We stayed in a "standard" room which wasn't large but was so thoughtfully designed and appointed it felt quite generous. Staff, including concierge Robert, very helpful and courteous. Recommend it highly, looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morraineNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My company has an account with special membership rates for its staff at Club Quarters. Club Quarters hotels are located in most major cities. My last stay was at the Club Quarters Grand Central. Although my trips to New York are business-related, this hotel is also a great place for tourists. It is a few blocks away from Grand Central Station, a central location for subways and commuter trains. . In addition to its convenience to public transportation, it's located in a great area for shopping. The hotel seems to attract a large number of visitors from other countries, and it is ideal for travelers who rely on their technology gadgets. Wi-Fi is free. Lots of electrical/USB outlets. A large room with balcony, free beverages and snacks, and computers is located on the 27th floor. The view is spectacular. The hotel seems to cater to the environmentally-conscious traveler. Free filtered water and containers are located on every floor; the heat/air unit is turned off when you arrive, but the thermostat allows you to adjust temperatures based on your needs. The standard room is small, but a superior room or suite is large and less costly than a standard room in many hotels, depending on the season. Each floor also has a unlocked guest closet that contains ironing boards and irons, and the hotel contains washers and travels, which is great for long stays. Basically the hotel has everything one would need -- comfy beds, large TVs, good lighting, and a very helpful and cheerful staff. There is a restaurant connected to the hotel that has great food, but is very expensive. There are many less expensive places to eat located in the vicinity of the hotel.
Check-in reception is fast, functional but not grand.

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsBolero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

We stayed a weekend in NYC just stop over on our way back from Florida to Europe. Were very pleased by the quality of the room and the location. Walking distance to Grand Station, Rockefeller Building... free WIFI and free luggage storage after checkout. We arrived before check in started which was no problem, as there were no rooms ready yet we were asked just to leave out luggage in reception and when we came back latter they were already in our room. View from the room window awesome, however I can imagine that it was also connected to the fact that we were at 23rd floor. If ever back to NYC would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernatka113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Yes the rooms are not huge, yes there is no grand reception, yes there is no room service BUT it does have, comfy beds, big TV, good bathroom facilities with excellent lighting and make-up mirror in addition to a powerful hair dryer (unusual for USA).

I stayed here on business for two nights and it was a 3 minute walk to Grand Central Subway to get downtown. Right near shopping and restaurants.

Previous reviewers mention the top floor lounge, it is excellent with complimentary snacks and drinks throughout the day and good office facilities in addition to great views of the city.

Would stay again if in NYC

Room Tip: Go high up for less noise, I was on 16th floor and was not affected at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MalPalLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Good location. Easy booking. Couple of blocks from Grand Central Station. Newly redone. Modest size rooms but everything is new. Nice bathrooms and bedding. Good value for a quick stay in NY. Just off Lexington. Small lobby area and checkin. Nice lounge on top floor for guests to hang out. Close to Many restaurants and short walk to Times Square. MTA Train access nearby. Sign up for their liberal awards program. Earn free nights. Friendly staff and atmosphere. Helped with luggage and extra pillows. Will return on future visits to New York. Highly recommend.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014

2 blocks from Grand Central, squeaky clean and new, small-ish rooms fitted out like boats with extreme space efficiency. Comfy bed with nice sheets and pillows. Big TV. Keurig coffee machine and pods. Built in bench seats with table for dining or work. Outlets and cords to support your devices. 27th floor terrace and "living room" for all guests. All this at an extremely good price. I will look at this brand first for NY and London. I spent the previous two nights on business at the tired, cramped Roosevelt and moved here for an extra solo personal night, a step up!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#132 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Midtown
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
Fitzpatrick Grand Central Hotel
#55 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
Club Quarters Hotel, Midtown
#222 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Roger Smith Hotel
Roger Smith Hotel
#122 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Midtown
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Center
The Jewel facing Rockefeller Cen...
#114 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Midtown
Even Hotel New York - Midtown East
Even Hotel New York - Midtown Ea...
#26 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central

Property: Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central
Address: 128 E 45th St, New York City, NY 10017-3104
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central 4*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Club Quarters, Grand Central provides contemporary, efficient accommodations in an inviting, club-like atmosphere in New York's premier Midtown location, near Grand Central Station, the Chrysler Building and United Nations complex. The hotel offers many complimentary services including fast WiFi throughout, chilled, purified water stations with refillable water bottles, fitness center and access to the Club Living Room - a lounge-like area for socializing, relaxing, or working with inviting seating, computer workstations, and wireless network printing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Club Quarters Hotel, Grand Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing