We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Customer Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #213 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

Because of the mid February winter storm that hit the east coast, our flights were cancelled to New York. The airlines (Alaska and United) were nice enough to offer full refunds, but when the travel agent contacted the hotel they refused. Now, I understand that a full refund may not be in the cards, that's fine, but the hotel demanded we rebook with them immediately, or lose our money.

We were more than willing to accept a credit for a later trip, we honestly want to reschedule our trip to NYC, but we couldn't possibly give them a date right away. The hotel said no to a credit which left us paying $800 for a hotel booking we couldn't use.

Fair enough Marriott, that's well within the rules. Go ahead, take money for nothing. But we'll never book with your hotel chain again and will encourage everyone we know to book with someone else as well.

We're looking forward to visiting NYC in the early summer, and really looking forward to staying anywhere but Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are sincerely sorry to hear about this experience. It is not our policy to make you change your dates right away, especially during severe weather. If you would like to contact me directly, I would like to clear up any misunderstanding that may be between the travel agent and the hotel. Our direct number is 212.227.0709.

Best,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    156
    47
    10
    4
See reviews for
156
51
20
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Small but modern and clean rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Helped us out with printing some documents. Free Breakfast has decent choices. Overall, great! Location is close to subway.

Room Tip: Far from ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyRay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear slickricspain,

You absolutely made our day with your wonderful review of the our hotel. We also like the location and we often walk down to the South Street Seaport. We are very proud of our team and the excellent service that we all provide to our guests.

Please stay with us again on your next trip the the Big Apple!

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / 212.227.0709 / dawn.klisures@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Fairfield Inn is in a quiet corner of Chinatown, only a few minutes walk from Wall Street and South Street Seaport. There are some nice, trendy bars and restaurants nearby which is convenient.
Rooms are a good size (very good size for NYC) and the beds are very comfortable (definitely up to Marriott standard). Breakfast is also good, with a great range of hot and cold options, fresh fruit (always a plus) and good selection of teas. I still don't understand why NYC hotels go for styrofoam plates, but there you go...

The staff are young and friendly and rooms were clean (the hotel is very new so enjoy it while everything is in tip top condition).

Unlike most Manhattan hotels, you will not hear much street noise as this hotel is in a quiet spot.
Yes, there is a Chinese supermarket that sells fish downstairs and some fishy smell can sometimes be noticeable near reception, but this is far from a big deal. In fact, the floors where rooms are smell nice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great find in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a 4 night stay here and it was pretty good. Rooms are a decent size and beds are COMFY! Room and overall cleanliness of the hotel was really good. Location is just ok. It is very convenient to Brooklyn and downtown but the subway station and nearby streets seemed to attract some iffy characters. I never felt unsafe walking around the area, just didn't really like it. There is also a bus (M15) that stops very close if you feel uncomfortable walking around at night.

As previous reviews have stated there is a fishy smell in the hallways & sometimes elevator. The smell never came in the room so it wasn't the end of the world. I wouldn't say the street noise was bad but you could definitely hear the subway passing over the bridge if you listened closely.

Staff here were very friendly and welcoming although I never had to ask any questions or interact with them much. Breakfast is very standard hotel breakfast but it was good. Fruit, breads, waffles, eggs etc to keep you going until lunch. Coffee was also good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank endingstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Overall, this was a good place to stay. We experienced a lot of the same things as mentioned in other reviews. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms and common areas are kept very clean. Our room was a little on the small side (even for NY) but we had great amenities, including a fridge and microwave in the room which were convenient. Free wi-fi and breakfast really add to the value offered by this hotel. We did not experience any problems with noise. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the subway (F train at East Broadway) so it is easy to get around the city and it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to Little Italy/Chinatown. There are some fast food restaurants and convenience stores a block or two away. There is a strange fish/garbage odor in the common areas. Sometimes it is overpowering and other times it is non-existent. The hotel staff said that they know the cause and are taking serious steps to rectify the problem. As many others have said, we never had any bad odor in our room, it's really mainly in the lobby. I would definitely consider staying there again once the odor problem is taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will definitely appreciate you for recognizing them! We welcome our guests with the same hospitality that we welcome our own family & friends with. Our neighbor is taking proactive steps in correcting the smell.

The location is a very interesting neighborhood being between the Lower East Side and Chinatown. Their are hundreds of wonderful and authentic restaurants just steps away in Little Italy specializing in Italian cuisine. Chinese, Malaysian and Korean delights throughout Chinatown and Orchard Street has many diverse options like Austrian, Spanish, BBQ and Cajun Seafood. The hotel is also walking distance to SoHo with miles of wonderful shopping venues.

We hope to welcome you again soon! All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / 212.227.0709
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Would agree with most of the recent reviews of this hotel. Very accommodating staff, strong fish smell in lobby and elevator (and sometimes in the breakfast area). As a native new yorker, I've long ago known this to be the smell of a market area, and a good part of chinatown has smelled this way for decades. As the surrounding neighborhood is part of the hugely enlarged chinatown area (which used to be just a bunch of blocks south of Canal street, but is now voluminous -- we must have traded land for national debt, much like buying manhattan for wampum) odors like this are to be expected, and are really kind of business natural. Just not used to smelling them inside a hotel. The hotel, as others said, is relatively new, clean, very nice, comfy beds, inexpensive, but somewhat basic. Nothing really to see or do in the immediate neighborhood, but subway and bus are not far away, so the world is at your feet (assuming you have big feet). Sleep was interrupted at midnight by private garbage truck loading up, but this IS new york, y'know.

Room Tip: Al rooms are likely to be noisy, but the traffic noise facing Pike street is probably less than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shrek4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
106 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

I am rating this hotel as a good budget hotel but this hotel is in no way up to the normal Marriott standards. The positives: Easy access from Grand Central, good breakfast available to guests, free WiFi, and the rooms were clean. The negatives: the entrance, lobby, elevators, WiFi, and breakfast area all had that fishy aroma as stated in previous reviews. The hotel tries to mask the smell with a fruity air freshener which provokes gag reflexes. We stayed on the 2nd floor over the grocery store - from early morning on there was a continual banging noise and people talking very loudly. When we decided to walk by we saw that the noise was the workers loading the conveyor belts. We mentioned the noise to hotel staff but not much they can do about noise and smell. Again rates were pretty decent for NYC but the old saying you get what you pay for seems appropriate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#192 of 468 in New York City
572 reviews
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#354 of 468 in New York City
157 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#188 of 468 in New York City
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#275 of 468 in New York City
1,211 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#175 of 468 in New York City
376 reviews
Chinatown
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
Howard Johnson Manhattan Soho
#287 of 468 in New York City
675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Address: 95 Henry Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #213 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Downtown East, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed Downtown Manhattan hotel's accommodations are conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing