We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome value and room for NYC hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome value and room for NYC hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

I have stayed all over Manhattan, BK and Queens and made this hotel my home for NYC. Love the amenities (microwave and fridge for every room). Location is pretty good (one block from F train). And I love the free breakfast spread. It is the only Fairfield Inn that has blueberry waffles and the breakfast area is not too crowded even during the peak hours.

Rooms are very good size for NYC hotels. Trust me other NYC hotels have very small rooms.

Staff are very friendly and Lucy and Christine always are professional and friendly, making everyone feel welcome.

I highly recommend this hotel to first-time travelers to NYC.

Room Tip: All the rooms are decently sized for NYC hotels. But some rooms can be close to the Manhattan bridg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lza129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you so much for choosing The Fairfield Inn Manhattan Downtown for your recent stay! We are always thrilled to hear praise for the property, and most of all the staff! We have an amazing team here, and that makes it easy for us to bring stellar service to you, the loyal guest. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    151
    44
    9
    4
See reviews for
147
46
18
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

The hotel is still very new. The room was well equipped with fridge / microwave/ decent TV etc. Comfortable queen size double beds (2 in my room). The famous 'fish smell' is noticeable in the reception and hallways etc but is not unbearable and you soon don't notice it. The smell is not in the rooms at all. Breakfast was more than adequate and plenty of it. If you are on a budget you can eat plenty at breakfast to see you through the day. A nice little gym although was very hot. Staff were very friendly and helpful. I left a pair Rayban sunglasses in my room on checking out day,when I went back to collect my cases the house keeper had handed them in ... so very honest too! Only a 10 minute walk to Little Italy which is good to eat, easy subway ride to uptown for the sights etc. I would definitely stay there again !!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bas246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Because of the mid February winter storm that hit the east coast, our flights were cancelled to New York. The airlines (Alaska and United) were nice enough to offer full refunds, but when the travel agent contacted the hotel they refused. Now, I understand that a full refund may not be in the cards, that's fine, but the hotel demanded we rebook with them immediately, or lose our money.

We were more than willing to accept a credit for a later trip, we honestly want to reschedule our trip to NYC, but we couldn't possibly give them a date right away. The hotel said no to a credit which left us paying $800 for a hotel booking we couldn't use.

Fair enough Marriott, that's well within the rules. Go ahead, take money for nothing. But we'll never book with your hotel chain again and will encourage everyone we know to book with someone else as well.

We're looking forward to visiting NYC in the early summer, and really looking forward to staying anywhere but Marriott.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alvin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We are sincerely sorry to hear about this experience. It is not our policy to make you change your dates right away, especially during severe weather. If you would like to contact me directly, I would like to clear up any misunderstanding that may be between the travel agent and the hotel. Our direct number is 212.227.0709.

Best,
Heather
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

Stayed 4 nights. Small but modern and clean rooms. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Helped us out with printing some documents. Free Breakfast has decent choices. Overall, great! Location is close to subway.

Room Tip: Far from ice machine
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BillyRay J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Dear slickricspain,

You absolutely made our day with your wonderful review of the our hotel. We also like the location and we often walk down to the South Street Seaport. We are very proud of our team and the excellent service that we all provide to our guests.

Please stay with us again on your next trip the the Big Apple!

All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / 212.227.0709 / dawn.klisures@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

The Fairfield Inn is in a quiet corner of Chinatown, only a few minutes walk from Wall Street and South Street Seaport. There are some nice, trendy bars and restaurants nearby which is convenient.
Rooms are a good size (very good size for NYC) and the beds are very comfortable (definitely up to Marriott standard). Breakfast is also good, with a great range of hot and cold options, fresh fruit (always a plus) and good selection of teas. I still don't understand why NYC hotels go for styrofoam plates, but there you go...

The staff are young and friendly and rooms were clean (the hotel is very new so enjoy it while everything is in tip top condition).

Unlike most Manhattan hotels, you will not hear much street noise as this hotel is in a quiet spot.
Yes, there is a Chinese supermarket that sells fish downstairs and some fishy smell can sometimes be noticeable near reception, but this is far from a big deal. In fact, the floors where rooms are smell nice.

I would definitely recommend this hotel as a great find in downtown.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slickricspain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Had a 4 night stay here and it was pretty good. Rooms are a decent size and beds are COMFY! Room and overall cleanliness of the hotel was really good. Location is just ok. It is very convenient to Brooklyn and downtown but the subway station and nearby streets seemed to attract some iffy characters. I never felt unsafe walking around the area, just didn't really like it. There is also a bus (M15) that stops very close if you feel uncomfortable walking around at night.

As previous reviews have stated there is a fishy smell in the hallways & sometimes elevator. The smell never came in the room so it wasn't the end of the world. I wouldn't say the street noise was bad but you could definitely hear the subway passing over the bridge if you listened closely.

Staff here were very friendly and welcoming although I never had to ask any questions or interact with them much. Breakfast is very standard hotel breakfast but it was good. Fruit, breads, waffles, eggs etc to keep you going until lunch. Coffee was also good.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank endingstart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2014

Overall, this was a good place to stay. We experienced a lot of the same things as mentioned in other reviews. The staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. The rooms and common areas are kept very clean. Our room was a little on the small side (even for NY) but we had great amenities, including a fridge and microwave in the room which were convenient. Free wi-fi and breakfast really add to the value offered by this hotel. We did not experience any problems with noise. The hotel is a couple of blocks from the subway (F train at East Broadway) so it is easy to get around the city and it is only about a 10-15 minute walk to Little Italy/Chinatown. There are some fast food restaurants and convenience stores a block or two away. There is a strange fish/garbage odor in the common areas. Sometimes it is overpowering and other times it is non-existent. The hotel staff said that they know the cause and are taking serious steps to rectify the problem. As many others have said, we never had any bad odor in our room, it's really mainly in the lobby. I would definitely consider staying there again once the odor problem is taken care of.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MojitoLoverMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn Marie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. Our staff will definitely appreciate you for recognizing them! We welcome our guests with the same hospitality that we welcome our own family & friends with. Our neighbor is taking proactive steps in correcting the smell.

The location is a very interesting neighborhood being between the Lower East Side and Chinatown. Their are hundreds of wonderful and authentic restaurants just steps away in Little Italy specializing in Italian cuisine. Chinese, Malaysian and Korean delights throughout Chinatown and Orchard Street has many diverse options like Austrian, Spanish, BBQ and Cajun Seafood. The hotel is also walking distance to SoHo with miles of wonderful shopping venues.

We hope to welcome you again soon! All the best, Dawn Marie Klisures / 212.227.0709
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#146 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan/Financial District
Fairfield Inn New York Manhattan...
#179 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#192 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#349 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Chinatown
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
BEST WESTERN Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#248 of 467 in New York City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown - Financial District
Hampton Inn Manhattan / Downtown...
#177 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Address: 95 Henry Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #209 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed property is conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing