We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, quirky neighborhood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
Ranked #240 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

This hotel was recently renewed: the rooms are comfortable, the bathrooms are clean and heating and showers work properly. The included breakfast is delicious! The staff was very helpful: they searched informations for us and also answered immeaditely one request we made regarding room changing.The neighborhood is exotic (Chinatown) but safe enough, and is located really near the metro station. Wifi is free and works quite well. Definetely recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tatesoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
There are newer reviews for Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

You can start your day with a delectable breakfast. They have shuttle service to nearest railway station every 30minutes.
Staff is very helpful.
Rooms are a bit ok. They have a good gymn too.
Grocery stores are very.much nearby

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
Thank kennychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harold G, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Hello kennychristian,


Thank you for taking the time for reviewing our hotel property. We are happy to receive the comments you've shared with the TripAdvisor community. It is a pleasure to serve our guests during their stay and anything that we can do to help we will do. Please reach out to me I'd like to hear more about your stay. Safe Travels. Harold.Gonzalez@Marriott.com

-Harold Gonzalez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Stayed with a group; very clean, pretty much brand-new hotel in good condition. Staff was very helpful, breakfast was very good (and included). Biggest issue was the "king studio" room mentions "living/sitting area", which is actually a pull-out sofa right next to the king-size bed. Room is no bigger than any other room. Not the best location if you are looking to sight-see.

Room Tip: We were in room 404; we had a fantastic view of the Manhattan bridge, but we heard the subway rumbli...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KrisSteve06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Its actually really close to public transit and located in Chinatown. Train passes through the hotel and might be a little noisy.

If you go back to the hotel late, it might be a little dangerous since there isn't much light and other things. However, the price is really reasonable and good location for business purposes.

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathtub and some doesn't, ask them for it.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yi mien t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This hotel was a little gem in a busy city and close to Chinatown and Canal Street. The staff was extremely helpful and the hotel was in great condition with good sized rooms. Very good value for Manhanttan. just a 5 min walk to the subway .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BFK15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I can safely say that this was the nicest Fairfield Inn I've ever stayed in (and I've stayed in quite a few). The room was nicer than many "higher" Marriott rooms (e.g. Courtyards), and the arrival experience, upper lobby area, etc. were all quite good. Certainly an exceptionally good value for a Manhattan hotel. Very interesting neighborhood also (eastern Chinatown). Not quiet, since the Manhattan Bridge is a block away overhead with frequent subways rumbling -- but quiet is difficult to come by anywhere in Manhattan. As other reviewers have noted, it's new, so the high quality for the price may not be there in a few years, but for now it's a great choice. I did not detect any fishy smell.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HudsonValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review and for choosing us for your stay in NYC. It is so nice to have the lively native NYC scene down here, especially when you get a room with a view of the bridge. Hoprfully you will come back and visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Standard sized (small) rooms for any NYC hotel, but all the public areas (breakfast area, hallways, lobby, elevators) smelled intensely of fish. It was overpowering at times. Thankfully, the odor didn't make its way into the guestroom.

Comfy beds, fridge in the room, and coffee maker are nice amenities. Would be nice if they affiliated themselves with one of the local parking lots to make getting in and out easier.

Good value for the room as well for a NYC property.

Room Tip: The higher floors seemed to smell less of fish.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emg1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heather H, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2014

Thank you for staying with us. We are working vigilanty on any venting issues, and should have them resolved very soon, we apologize for any inconvenience. We hope to host you again on a future trip to NYC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#347 of 468 in New York City
170 reviews
Chinatown
Hotel Mulberry
Hotel Mulberry
#217 of 468 in New York City
589 reviews
Chinatown
The Leon Hotel
The Leon Hotel
#213 of 468 in New York City
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
Best Western Bowery Hanbee Hotel
#263 of 468 in New York City
1,264 reviews
Financial District
Holiday Inn Express New York City-Wall Street
Holiday Inn Express New York Cit...
#350 of 468 in New York City
509 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#332 of 468 in New York City
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East

Address: 95 Henry Street, New York City, NY 10002
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Chinatown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #240 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £103 - £377 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the spacious guestrooms at the BRAND NEW Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott New York Manhattan/Downtown East, more than half of which are double queen bedded rooms. We will quickly become your new home away from home with thoughtful upgraded amenities like a wonderful free hot breakfast daily and a mini-fridge and microwave in every room. And staying connected is easy with complimentary WiFi in all rooms and public areas. Our newly constructed Downtown Manhattan hotel's accommodations are conveniently located in NYC/Manhattan/Downtown between Chinatown (known for its authentic cuisine and cultural background) and the Lower East Side (famous for its trendy nightlife, a melting pot of different cultures that provide a more local experience of the Big Apple). And we are just minutes away from all the exciting NYC attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites New York Manhattan/Downtown East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing