We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO SO”
Review of Nobu

Nobu
Reserve with OpenTable
Nobu is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #204 of 13,763 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian, Japanese, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: TriBeCa
Hertfordshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“SO SO”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

The food was nice but the service was awful. Our waiter who looked like a senior member of staff was very rude. When we asked for recommendations it was like we had asked him to give us a free meal! Having been to the london Nobu I would not recommend the New York one.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danipr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    719
    332
    151
    49
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I was expecting a grand experience, instead it was just ok.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was expecting this amazing experience and explosion of flavor based on all the hype around Nobu but I did not taste anything exceptional that would make me crave the food again. I felt like I could find the same food at a good sushi place in my own city. The only thing that was unique was the Rock Shrimp Tempura. Try it to say you have tried Nobu but expect to leave with your walker considerably light.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 80Shaq80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darien, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Incredible; A feast for the senses!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My husband and I came to Nobu to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had incredibly high expectations and also accepted in advance that this would be an expensive meal (we were not disappointed on either count). The menu was massive and the wine list wonderfully extensive. Wanting to experience all the flavors and bring a little bit of extra mystery to the meal, we chose to do Omakase - or the chef's choice/tasting meal. We were able to simply to tell our waitress that we were ready to try anything and loved spicy food :-)! The next two and half hours was pure culinary bliss . . .and I am still dreaming of this food weeks later. Started off with an amuse bouche of a delicious sweet potato and then seven courses, each more delightful than the next: chilled toro topped with caviar in a wasabi sauce and garnish of Japanese mountain peach (wow!), three selections of sashimi with divine sauces and my favorite kumamoto oysters, the most delicious salmon on a bead of artfully julienne vegetables, three beautiful pieces of sushi (including the best blue fin tuna I’ve ever had), sizzling Kobe beef with a spicy chimichurri sauce (I need more of this in my life!!), and then not one but two dessert courses! It was such a special and memorable evening :-). Service was impeccable and the restaurant was lovely! Definitely recommend a visit! We will be back!!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank medatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Nobu met our (very) high expectation, and set a new bar for the next meals.
Loved the food - the salad dressing was delicious, the flavors of the sushi plate were celebration, and the dessert was perfect.
We came for lunch. The place was full, yet the service was professional and efficient.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DBC53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great cuisine, bit overpriced”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Fabulous food, hip decor, but you pay a bit more for the name- I've had equally good nigiri elsewhere in Manhattan for less $. Still, a worthwhile experience for sushi/fusion lovers

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank neuromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nobu also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Nobu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing