We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best of NYC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #256 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 21 December 2013

This hotel is right across the street from Central Park South and is a beautiful hotel. We got an upgrade to a suite with a king size bed, with a partial view of Central Park. We really enjoyed our stay there - the room was beautiful!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade - it's worth the extra amount, we were very pleased with the hotel and staff.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,775)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,210 - 1,216 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2013

Super clean, super relaxing, super staff!!! I was here last year right after Marriott took over operations again and it was chaotic and stressful for everyone including the guests. In one year they managed to pull it together and have a great operation now. The new lounge is beautiful but has very limited hours and no weekend hours at all.

Had a junior suite with a great view, very comfy!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobalAdventurer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

After braving the traffic and crowds, the cheer and service of the Essex House was immediate solace. Quiet rooms comfortable bed and unique touches everywhere. Console of dimmable lights by the door, and floor lights by night stand and bathroom cabinet that light at your approach. Shower a little complicated but nice and bathroom well laid out. Closet with cedar lining and subtle accent light along hanging bar. Downstairs the concierge lounge is among the best I've experienced. Generous excellent food and five star table service. Hotel bar is picturesque looking out on Central Park. Drinks are pricey but unusual. The lobby is elegant and stately with a live pianist playing Christmas music. The hotel sits across from the park and the horse-drawn carriage station and is a safe easy walk to Manhattan's broadway theaters, Radio city music hall and Times Square. Security was congenial and discreet but ever present. Service impeccable and friendly throughout.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

The hotel has a great location and the lobby and staff are nice. But the rooms are the worst I've seen in NYC and I would never recommend the hotel or stay there again. The carpet was stained, the furniture was falling apart, the decor was dowdy. There are so many better hotels in NYC that won't cost a fortune. Do not stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dcgirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

Fantastic stay in NYC at the JW Marriott Essex House at Central Park. The entire staff went out of their way daily to make it my favorite Marriott property. Amy (front desk) and King started off my great stay with superlative customer service and overwhelming care to make my stay memorable. The staff at the concierge lounge were A+ and took care of me and my family - unbelievable service. The JW Marriott Essex House will be my only hotel choice when I'm in NYC. Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Clayton D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

The only positive thing about this hotel is the location! We requested an upgrade, but were told there were none. Given that it was a busy time of season, it was certainly understandable. However, when we arrived at our room, it was the size of a closet! There was literally no where to walk or sit, except the bed. The bathroom was not large enough for 2, and there was absolutely no counter space. Worst of all, the bathroom had a horrible and pungent smell. We were shocked beyond belief that they would even give this room to any guest. We called down and advised of the smell and were given another room. We asked if they could bring the key to us, but were told that it might take a while because they were busy, and it would be better for us to go to the front desk for the key. We were assigned another room, and shockingly, it was twice the size of the first room (although still very small), with a large counter in the bathroom. At least there was a chair to sit down on in the room, and a little space to walk. The closet was tiny, and barely fit our coats! We are not sure why we were not given this room to begin with, given that this was not an upgraded room, but instead they put us in the tiny, smelly room. This was an improvement (it didn't smell), but not much. Things only got worse from check-in. We did not get turn down service, even though we specifically called for it (although you really shouldn't have to call for it at a JW), trays with empty glasses were left outside our room for days (housekeeping just walked by it countless times), we were left one bath towel, and we called for items that were never delivered. In addition, this property needs maintenance. The carpet in the rooms was visibly stained and dirty, and the liner in the shower was so bad when we checked in that housekeeping changed it the next day without us even mentioning it. The lounge offered a nice presentation for breakfast and in the evening, but was way too crowded. Unfortunately, we arrived for drinks on Thursday night only to be told that it was closed for a private event. Unacceptable! The concierge lounge is for hotel guests, and not to be booked for private events when it is supposed to be open to guests. If the hotel wants to rent it for private events on Friday and Saturday that is not a problem, but it is problematic when it closes during the week when hotel guests should have access, especially without notice to the guests at either check-in or in the morning with a notice at the door. Breakfast in the lounge was overcrowded, and the line was out the door with people waiting to get in. That only leads one to believe that the hotel is granting access to too many people, which is also unacceptable. On Friday night, the bar/restaurant in the hotel was closed for a private party. It would make sense to move the private party to the executive lounge on a Friday night, when it is closed to hotel guests. Instead, the hotel closes the bar/restaurant and leaves their hotel guests without any alternative. In addition to using the executive lounge for the party, the hotel had the option to utilize the back of the restaurant, and leave the bar and front of the restaurant open to hotel guests. It didn't make any sense to inconvenience hotel guests. However, the hotel showed that it was more interested in making money through these private events, than pleasing its guests. This property does not live up to the standards of a JW and is not worth the prices/points being charged here! It is definitely not a category 8 property. Any amount of money or points is too much to stay at this property. Stay Away! There are better properties in NYC!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flalove2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

I would like to thank you for your time for sharing your feedback. On behalf of the hotel I would like to apologize for your disappointment with your stay. We take your feedback seriously and have looked at improving on all of the issues you have shared with us. Thank you again and Happy Holidays!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Just completed 6 nights here. The location could not be better. Can walk to almost everywhere you want to visit (Broadway, Times Square, Met Museum, Park Ave, Lincoln Center, etc.). The staff is very helpful and accommodating. Recommend a higher room, as the street noise can invade, but that is too be expected when you are off Central Park South. The Lounge (costs extra, unless you are a Marriott Rewards member of some level) is very good. Free breakfast every morning was varied and fresh. Only complaint I have during the stay was that the WiFi (even if you paid for it) was so spotty that in the room I sometimes had only one bar on my iPhone. However, all considered our stay was perfect. Couldn't ask for more!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,330 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,461 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#257 of 468 in New York City
6,419 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £298 - £778 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing