We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great NYC experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #248 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A great NYC experience”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

I had a great experience at this hotel. I guess I was fortunate enough to get a beauiful with a great veiw. The room was totally up to date with a fantastic bathroom and some of the coolest lighting features I have come across. (I spend about 70 to 80 nights a year in hotels). The staff was friendly, helpful and professional. This is a GREAT location especially if you use the subway - easy access to 1, 2, 3, A, B, C, D, N, Q, and R. It also gives you the opition to walk up and down 6th and 7th Aves and avoid 5th. Don't forget to walk the 5 minutes to see the seals being fed at the zoo at 4PM everyday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Toomuchtravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,743 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    781
    517
    242
    112
    91
See reviews for
486
594
64
361
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (475)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Love the decor of this art-deco hotel. Some reviewers noted the wear and tear and I agree- there are some obvious signs of age in the rooms but I can overlook that ( especially since I was using points but I can see why a paying customer would be frustrated given the price of this place). Concierge lounge is great - very spacious and nicely laid out and had a good selection. The location is wonderful and this will be my go-to hotel in NYC from now on.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2013

The location and staff were wonderful. I am a Platinum Marriott member and we stayed here twice in December. We ate at the hotel restaurant, South Gate, where the service and food were good. The menu and prices for Lunch and Dinner are the same, making dinner a better value. South Gate has a nice fireplace and large windows overlooking the Central Park. The rooms were clean and spacious. The bathrooms are small but well appointed. As a Platinum member I have access to the lounge for breakfast which is the only negative feature of the Essex House. The staff was cordial but the lounge was so overcrowded on both visits that we waited over 20 minutes just to sit for coffee and a light breakfast. They did not allow anyone to leave with anything but coffee which would have alleviated the crowded conditions.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rob r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Johns, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay. The service was great and the room was gorgeous, we had a beautiful view of Central Park. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did stop for drinks. The service was fantastic and it was great to relax and enjoy our drinks by the fire. We almost always stay at Marriott properties, and this one did not disappoint.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We just got back and the location is perfect. Overlooks Central Park, close to Rockefeller Center and Times Square. The subway is very close by too. Everyone at the hotel is very nice. We had the 1 Bedroom suite overlooking Central Park. It is an awesome room. The room is huge. Large foyer, separate living room with a half bath then there is a hallway to the full bath and the bedroom. The room was very clean and comfortable. We were on the 38th floor. Total 40 floors. The views were incredible. The buffet breakfast in the executive lounge is really good. The best food of any executive lounge. Room service is very expensive.

Room Tip: Rooms on high floors are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caroljb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Islip Terrace, New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We enjoy staying in the city from time to time, especially during the holiday season. Yes, the price is over priced but you also are local to the restaurants, mall at Columbus Circle and Central Park. Everything with in walking distance otherwise a short cab ride. Staff there are pleasant and helpful. Hotel appearance is clean and maintained well. If your looking for a coffee maker in your room, don't bother because it isn't here. We would stay there again for sure

Room Tip: Definitely should ask for a corner suite or room facing Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We love the Essex House- have now stayed there twice due to our Marriot points! Spent an overnight last week to celebrate my partners birthday. Hannah at the front desk was wonderful. When I told her about the birthday she gave us a primo room facing the park! Beautiful. We went skating across the street at Wohlman rink. It is much less expensive than Rock Center. After a nice birthday dinner we returned to our room to find a bottle of champagne on ice and a piece of delicious birthday cake. Now that is the way to treat your customers. So thoughtful. So nice. We highly recommend this hotel for your NYC experience. The king bed is luxurious, the deep tub was delightful, the room was spacious and comfy and was everything we hoped for. Thank you Hannah and The Essex House!

Room Tip: We asked for a room up high and king bed with extra feather pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IleneUpstateNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#25 of 467 in New York City
1,253 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#38 of 467 in New York City
2,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#256 of 467 in New York City
6,199 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#8 of 467 in New York City
691 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Property: JW Marriott Essex House New York
Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#141 Business Hotel in New York City
#165 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Marriott, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing