We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay June 12-15”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #251 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I read all the poor reviews on Trip Advisor and I was quite concerned. We have stayed at the Ritz Carlton down the street and I wondered if I should change my reservation. However, we had a great stay. We had no issues with the room (we were upgraded). The front desk staff were outstanding. The concierge room had outstanding food. The front door guys stood in the middle of the street to get us cabs. Everyone had a great attitude. We will return

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kenmac33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

We appreciate your decision to stick with your reservation and stay with us at the JW Marriott Essex House. Though travelers have many choices in the area, we believe our hotel’s rich history and convenient Central Park location set us apart. It sounds as though you received exceptional service throughout your stay as well. You can expect the same warm welcome and friendly demeanor with each return visit. If there is anything we can do prior to your next stay, please do not hesitate to let us know.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,807)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 1,808 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

Loved the location next to the park and room was very comfortable. We got wonderful help with dinner/lunch reservations. While the restaurant/bar was good for a drink, I wouldn't eat breakfast here. Very average breakfast/buffet when so many good spots are a short walk and cheaper. We had one issue with housekeeping not taking our used bar glasses out of the room even when it was obvious they were used(2 day old limes). Overall had a very good experience, just not perfect. I would certainly consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Mike M,

Thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, and hope to be able to build upon the experience in the future. As you noted, there is room for improvement, and we are committed to raising the bar and exceeding your expectations. We hope to hear from you again next time you find yourself in Manhattan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Beautiful hotel with great service. We really enjoyed being located right across from the park, my husband was able to enjoy a great run in the park early in the morning. The whole hotel is decorated beautifully and feels like an oasis in the middle of busy Manhattan. The breakfast was excellent and the hotel bar on Saturday night was bustling and vibrant. My husband and I really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Smiles1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Smiles1975,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. It was our pleasure to welcome you to our hotel, and it is wonderful to know you enjoyed every moment of your experience. We hope to continue to be your “oasis” of choice when you travel to Manhattan. Please don’t hesitate to get in touch if there is anything we can do to be of service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

While traveling on business, I stayed at the Essex House for two nights. The hotel is very distinguished with classic charm and elegance. It is in a great location, within a short walk to central park and the shops of Columbus Circle. In contrast, the hotel bar is very modern and chic, with good menu of varied food and drinks. The rooms are also a bit more modern, with dim on/dim off lights, illuminated art behind the bed with soft lights that rotate in color. The beds were amazingly comfortable. The bathroom was clean and updated and there are good amenities in the room including a safe, private bar and flat screen t.v. The fitness room was large with a good variety of cardio and weight training machines.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AngeliqueCPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear AngeliqueCPA,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. We are pleased to know you enjoyed comfortable accommodations and excellent food and drinks during your time with us. We take great pride in balancing the “classic charm and elegance” that you’ve described with the modern conveniences expected by a business traveler like you. Whatever brings you to New York next, we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We love the "feel" of this hotel in Manhattan. From the moment you walk in the lobby, you know you are in a luxury hotel. The location is excellent. We've had smallish rooms and larger rooms. Either way, we have enjoyed our stays.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank SFsoccermom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear SFsoccermom,

It is always wonderful to hear from a guest who feels at home in our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your loyalty and hope to continue serving you and your family for years to come. If you need any assistance planning your next stay, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Great location for family visit to NYC being across from the park near shops on Fifth and Madison and walking distance to Times Square theatre district. The staff went above and beyond to provide a very memorable visit. The executive club provided a first class breakfast and refreshments. Concierge was very knowledgeable and helpful getting into great dinner spots nearby. The rooms we had were large with great views of the park. The management of this property based on my experience was first rate.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dubin115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Dubin115,

Thank you for your kind words. It sounds like you and your family enjoyed much of what makes our hotel special, including a convenient location and exceptional service. We will be sure to pass along your compliments to our entire staff. We hope to continue welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Essex House whenever you’re in town. As we become more familiar with your preferences, you’ll find your experience only improves, and we look forward to raising the bar again with your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We stayed in a junior suite for 6 days in April. I had once stayed regularly at the Essex House, 20+ years ago, and, induced by a special price and Marriott's relatively new management, as well as its convenience, though I'd try again. Bad decision. Although the room was comfortable, and the location is still as convenient as ever, that was offset by (I) room was unavailable when we arrived at 8:30 p.m., finally available an hour later, (ii) worn carpeting and décor in lobby; (iii) wear and tear in the room; (iv) potentially lethal glass shelf at eye level adjacent to the bathroom door, (v) long lines, lackadaisical service and limited selection in the breakfast buffet (we were comped for breakfast, after our arrival experience, but we chose to eat out and pay instead). Those experiences offset a willing and courteous staff, who tried. All in all, it may have been a bargain, but we got what we paid for. Marriott has a lot of work to do, and there's no evidence that it's trying.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lnmsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

Dear Lnmsdad,

Thank you for taking the time to share honest feedback about your April stay. We are thankful you chose to return to our hotel after so many years, but regret we could not meet your expectations this time around. We also appreciate the specificity of your review; as we look to make changes and updates, we will be sure to reference guest sentiments like yours.

That said, we apologize for any inconvenience or discomfort encountered during your time with us. We pride ourselves on prompt service, and a wait after check-in is an uncharacteristic experience you’re unlikely to have again in the future. We are also concerned by your assessment of “lackadaisical service” and will be taking up the issue with our staff. These shortcomings do not reflect how we do business, nor the reputation that we’ve built throughout the years. We hope to have another opportunity someday to show you just how special a stay can be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 469 in New York City
2,917 reviews
Midtown
Mandarin Oriental, New York
Mandarin Oriental, New York
#56 of 469 in New York City
1,492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#26 of 469 in New York City
1,540 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#259 of 469 in New York City
6,592 reviews
Midtown
The Plaza
The Plaza
#93 of 469 in New York City
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Spa Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#173 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £263 - £809 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing