We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New York For My Birthday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #255 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was wonderful. The staff, room, location etc couldn't of been better. Upgraded to a suite because it was my 65th birthady, champane and a birthday cake left in our room. Everyone was amazing, thanks for a great birthday weekend.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view of Central Park but that was ok. We were by the elevator and I like that.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Katherine D,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. It was our pleasure to welcome you and help provide you with an enjoyable birthday experience. You can expect the same great service and luxury with each return stay, regardless of occasion. Until then, please don’t hesitate to get in touch if there’s anything we can do to assist in planning a visit.

Sincerely,

Maria F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,780)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Essex House New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,036 - 1,042 of 1,780 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent location - right opposite Central Park. a short walk away from the heart of Fifth Avenue, and many subway stations within a block or two radius

Rooms and service are pleasant but unremarkable. You will need to pay for a Central Park view.

Breakfast spread could definitely be better.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank zwpor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear zwpor8,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott Essex House and for taking the time to share a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you our historic hotel on Central Park. We regret, however, that the breakfast did not meet your expectations; we will be looking into ways to better serve our guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Maria F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recently we stayed at the Essex House in NYC and had a wonderful experience. Service was excellent, staff very responsive and helpful. Room was nice size with incredible views of Central Park and the Time Warner Building complex. Its location on Central Park South provides immediate access to the Park and a host of other city activities. It is within a short walking distance to 5th ave and the theater district. Make every effort to select a high floor with view of the park. Great location for a stay in NYC

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors on the north side with Park Views or high floors with west side Time Wa...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Pete V,

Thank you for taking the time to share a few thoughts on your recent visit to the JW Marriott Essex House. It sounds like you had a wonderful time both in the hotel and the surrounding area. As you noted, many of our rooms and suites offer spectacular views of Central Park. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon for a stay in equally enjoyable accommodations.

Sincerely,

Maria F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

We booked a Central Park View one-bedroom suite and the view was worth the price. The suite had a full bath and a powder room, which was unexpected and appreciated. There was also a large foyer. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We only ate breakfast at the hotel, which was tasty, though pricey; our server--we had the same one--remembered our preferences from day to day. All in all the only minor negative is the furnishings in the lounge area were not particularly comfortable. In contrast to the bed, which was very comfortable. We like to walk and location across the street from Central Park and and a couple blocks away from 5th Avenue suited us. Public areas retain the splendor of the original Essex House. There are jewelry and collectibles shops in the hotel (and perhaps others?), which were like going to a museum. We were on the 31st floor with very little city noise.

Room Tip: Go for a Central Park view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Nasi J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Nasi J,

We appreciate your visit and willingness to take the time to review the JW Marriott Essex House. We are pleased to hear you found your room comfortable and enjoyed the Central Park views. It’s wonderful to know our staff made a lasting impression, particularly at breakfast. You can expect the same attention to detail with every return stay. We have noted your feedback about our lounge furnishings, and will take it into consideration moving forward. Thanks again—we hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Maria F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is nice, clean and well appointed. Of course the best bit is surely the location with Central Park on the doorstep.

The lobby area gets very busy and the reception staff sometimes struggle to keep up.

Rooms are a good size for New York and perfectly comfortable if a little dated.

The biggest complaint is the prices of food in the restaurant. Breakfast buffet is $37 and the waiter wants his tip.....extortionate to my mind.

Laundry was also very, very expensive.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Steve A,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. We are pleased to hear your visit was enjoyable. As you noted, our location on Central Park makes for a completely unique experience in New York City. Though accommodations and amenities met your expectations, we regret you had issues with lobby crowds and dining value. We know price is a consideration for every guest, which is why we aim to provide first-class cuisine at all hours of the day.

Thanks again. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Maria F.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed for two nights for a conference. The location is PERFECT. I started my mornings with a long walk in Central Park so never tried the hotel gym. Lots of Starbucks and dining options nearby as well. The room itself was big and the bed was great. I had a sliver of a view into the park, but that was not a deal breaker. I also had access to the Executive Lounge and was able to enjoy an amazing breakfast and really nice and welcoming service from the staff there. The only downside were some of the room amenities. Figuring out which light switches to use and how to turn them off and on wasn't the easiest. The water in the bathroom took seemingly forever to heat and I was only on the 20th floor so it could be more challenging on higher floors. The worst part was the constant noise from the pipes. Upon flushing the toilet, I could hear what sounded like banging/clanging pipes for about five minutes afterwards. I would not let this deter me from staying IF I got a good rate.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank anissa96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Anissa96,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at JW Marriott Essex House. Despite our fantastic fitness center, you’re absolutely right: nothing beats a long walk in Central Park in the morning. We're so pleased that as a Marriott Rewards member, you were able to enjoy our luxurious Executive Lounge and outstanding service and food. We are looking forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights on our way home from our wedding in St. Thomas. We were satisfied with the hotel, but the service was less than what you would expect at a JW.

Check in process was not very welcoming and felt rushed even though we arrived in the evening and there was no line. When I asked about an upgrade for Gold Elite status the agent seemed irritated and told me that they were 100% booked without even looking. When we made it up to the room I checked the website and reservations were still available, so I'm not sure why she made that up.

Location is amazing, directly across from Central Park and offering quick access to almost anywhere in the city.

The room was great and had a lot of nice features. The entire hotel is beautiful and you can really feel the history when you walk through the doors.

Business center printers weren't working (wasted $10 logging in and then couldn't print), but the concierge was very helpful and allowed me to log in to my StubHub account on their system and print my Yankees tickets.

Even with the lackluster staff, I would still recommend this hotel if you are looking for a hotel near the park.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Brock M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Brock M,

Thank you for your stay with us at JW Marriott Essex House. We are pleased that you loved our fabulous Central Park location and your accommodations. However, we are disappointed to hear that you experienced anything less than exceptional customer service. Your encounter with our concierge is much more characteristic of our typical service, and we apologize for the misstep at check-in. We appreciate that you would still recommend our hotel, and hope that you will join us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#28 of 468 in New York City
1,338 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 468 in New York City
1,466 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 468 in New York City
707 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#41 of 468 in New York City
2,815 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#258 of 468 in New York City
6,430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#139 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range: £293 - £779 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing