We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location , great staff and nice room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Essex House New York
Ranked #251 of 467 Hotels in New York City
chicago, IL
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Location , great staff and nice room”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband for a quick NYC stay. Location is amazing. Our room wasnt huge but it worked . Nice view of Central Park. Bed was great. Room was modern and clean. Te only bad thing was the shower. I think they forgot to renovate the showers! Weird. Staff could not be nicer. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Get a park view .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chicagofamily04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the JW Marriot Essex House. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit to New York City. It sounds like everything met or exceeded your expectations, with the exception of your room’s shower. We will absolutely take your feedback into consideration as we move forward and think about ways to improve our accommodations. Thanks again, and we hope that you’ll stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    788
    518
    245
    114
    92
See reviews for
488
602
65
362
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (479)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Mesa, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We have had the opportunity to travel to NYC on a number of occasions and have stayed at a number of different Marriotts (due to being loyal Rewards member) this was by far my favorite property. We had a LOVELY corner room with an amazing view of the park. It was a very large hotel room by any standard and huge for NYC. The room had been updated - so I am not sure about the other reviews that say they are tired? Perhaps not all rooms have been updated? The location was amazing. We walked every place and loved being right on the park. I would choose to stay there again if given the opportunity! One fun little addition was seeing the Fox NFL gang in the hotel bar - even got a photo with Jimmy Johnson!

Room Tip: ask for room with view of the park if possible and a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingMomma2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
We greatly appreciate your loyalty to Marriott hotels, and are pleased to hear you had such an amazing experience staying with us in New York City. Our location puts us right in the middle of real, exciting New York action—and we’re glad to hear that you were able to enjoy our close proximity to the city’s famous attractions and even meet a celebrity right inside of our hotel. We hope you’ll be back to stay with us again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I took almost an hour to book a very specific room via Marriott reservations, and was disappointed not to have it, as we were slated for a 10 day stay. After speaking with the management, at first they noted they were just going by the reservations (which were erroneous and it was my error for not confirming they were what I had asked for), but finally did seem to understand our disappointment. When a new room was available, they allowed me to take a look and the last three days of our stay were simply wonderful. Each manager I spoke with was gracious and helpful. The concierges are mostly helpful in providing options, though I was able to get better rates for tickets through AM Ex Black, which is unusual. The housekeepers and bell staff were gracious as well. Only complaints were that the executive lounge was closed inexplicably at times they should have been open and we would have liked a higher degree of more visible security. Also, room service, while ok, was extraordinarily expensive and we wouldn't have had to order if the lounge had been open.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mavrikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel, and for staying with us on your trip to New York City. We apologize that we were unable to fulfill your specific room request, but greatly appreciate your understanding and patience. It sounds like the last three days of your stay were a taste of what could be in the future.

It’s wonderful to know you enjoyed gracious, helpful service throughout your stay. We are determined to provide a high level of customer service and want every guest to feel at home while staying with us. We hope that you’ll be back again to stay with us on your next trip to New York City, and are confident that your next experience with us will be much better than your last. Thanks again for your review, we greatly appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We were using points for our stay so not sure if that had anything to do with it but our first night the room was so noisy we hardly slept. We got moved to a higher up room with an courtyard view - was nice and quiet. Rooms were a bit tired and needed an update. Hotel is very impressive and service was excellent. If you had a view of Central Park it would be wonderful but if you don't get a room with a view I wouldn't bother. The nice thing regardless of the view is that you are right across from the park which is fantastic.

Breakfast was fantastic - we had ours included. If you had to buy breakfast it was bit expensive

Get a hotel a block or two south and save some money

Room Tip: Get a room higher up and stay away from the lower back of the building - garbage trucks all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear D d,

Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your recent stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. We are pleased to hear you found convenience in our location on Central Park, but regret other aspects of your experience did not unfold the way you expected. We hope you will accept our apologies for what sounds like an uncharacteristic experience in terms of accommodations. Our hotel features a wide variety of rooms and suites, unfortunately, not all rooms are able to provide views of Central Park. However, we frequently update our offers and packages to help provide you with the viewing experience.

We will take your feedback into consideration moving forward, and hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,

Maria F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel was wonderful. The staff, room, location etc couldn't of been better. Upgraded to a suite because it was my 65th birthady, champane and a birthday cake left in our room. Everyone was amazing, thanks for a great birthday weekend.

Room Tip: We didn't have a view of Central Park but that was ok. We were by the elevator and I like that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katherine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Katherine D,

We appreciate you taking the time to review your recent stay at the JW Marriott Essex House. It was our pleasure to welcome you and help provide you with an enjoyable birthday experience. You can expect the same great service and luxury with each return stay, regardless of occasion. Until then, please don’t hesitate to get in touch if there’s anything we can do to assist in planning a visit.

Sincerely,

Maria F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Excellent location - right opposite Central Park. a short walk away from the heart of Fifth Avenue, and many subway stations within a block or two radius

Rooms and service are pleasant but unremarkable. You will need to pay for a Central Park view.

Breakfast spread could definitely be better.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank zwpor8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear zwpor8,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the JW Marriott Essex House and for taking the time to share a review. It was our pleasure to welcome you our historic hotel on Central Park. We regret, however, that the breakfast did not meet your expectations; we will be looking into ways to better serve our guests in the future. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Maria F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kissimmee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Recently we stayed at the Essex House in NYC and had a wonderful experience. Service was excellent, staff very responsive and helpful. Room was nice size with incredible views of Central Park and the Time Warner Building complex. Its location on Central Park South provides immediate access to the Park and a host of other city activities. It is within a short walking distance to 5th ave and the theater district. Make every effort to select a high floor with view of the park. Great location for a stay in NYC

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on high floors on the north side with Park Views or high floors with west side Time Wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maria F, Manager at JW Marriott Essex House New York, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Pete V,

Thank you for taking the time to share a few thoughts on your recent visit to the JW Marriott Essex House. It sounds like you had a wonderful time both in the hotel and the surrounding area. As you noted, many of our rooms and suites offer spectacular views of Central Park. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon for a stay in equally enjoyable accommodations.

Sincerely,

Maria F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
Midtown
1 Hotel Central Park
1 Hotel Central Park
#24 of 467 in New York City
1,279 reviews
Midtown
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
The Sherry-Netherland Hotel
#9 of 467 in New York City
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#19 of 467 in New York City
1,423 reviews
Midtown
the Quin
the Quin
#40 of 467 in New York City
2,750 reviews
Midtown
Park Lane Hotel
Park Lane Hotel
#255 of 467 in New York City
6,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Essex House New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Essex House New York

Property: JW Marriott Essex House New York
Address: 160 Central Park S, New York City, NY 10019-1502
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#140 Business Hotel in New York City
#169 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Essex House New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 515
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since opening its doors in 1931, the JW Marriott Essex House New York has served as an iconic Central Park hotel, delivering exceptional experiences for its guests. This New York luxury hotel welcomes you with contemporary guestrooms and suites – many affording views of Central Park – that offer distinctive amenities and the latest in technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Essex House New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jumeirah Essex House Hotel New York City
Jumeirah Essex Hotel
Hotel Jumeirah Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing