We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pizza in New York”

Joe's Pizza - Carmine St
Ranked #91 of 13,554 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Fast food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West Village
Description: Since 1975, the family-owned Greewich Village Institution. Serving the quintessential slice of New York. Now, proud to announce our first expansion in 38 years! You can also visit us at (Joe's Pizza - 14st) 150 E. 14th St.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best pizza in New York”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was the best pizza I've ever had! Inexpensive, quick and multiple tables to eat ate. This is a must try.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MelB_1384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

913 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    256
    81
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“the best pizza in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

every trip to NYC is only complete with a visit to joe's pizza ... this really small restaurant serving hot and fresh pizza is the best pizza in the world - thin crust plain cheese pizza which melts in your mouth .....if you are looking for a fine dining experience this is definitely not the place however if you are looking for finger licking good fresh pizza this is worth the trip !!!! needless to say that this is my favourate place to eat pizza !!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SAIMOHAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, MI
Level Contributor
51 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Delicious New York slices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

Hands down, this is my favorite slice place in New York. Everytime I'm in town, it's one of my first stops, and I always try to stop one last time before I head to the airport. The slices are thin and crispy, with a balanced sauce that's just a little sweet, and the perfect amount of toppings. Just as a warning: It's a small space with mostly counter seating - there are 2 standup tables in the center and three counters along the wall with stools. So if you have a large group, plan accordingly.

Another great thing about Joe's is the location. It's right around the corner from the West 4th Street subway stop, and also right by Bleecker Street, which is full of awesome restaurants and food shops. I like to graze my way through the neighborhood - slice at Joe's, then a gelato pop or macaron, some cheese from Murray's, etc.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
198 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good Pizza!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The shop is little and you just walk in and order. Hubby and I took our slices out to the little park across the street and ate. It was hot and delicious! Prices were great and eating it in the park was perfect. Hubby even went back for another slice! We headed over to Molly's Cupcakes for dessert... a perfect night!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
135 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Oh Joe's!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The best pizza I've ever had!!! Started with one slice and had to go back for another and even more the next night. The pizza is not too thick and the price can't be beat, 2.75 for a slice of cheese.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jadeyjade07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe's Pizza - Carmine St also viewed

 

Been to Joe's Pizza - Carmine St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing