We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a Restaurant, an Experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Four Seasons Restaurant

The Four Seasons Restaurant
Ranked #729 of 13,479 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$41 - US$80
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: Between Park and Lexington Avenues
Transit: 6 train to 51st Street E, M trains to Lexington Ave/53rd Street 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R to 59th Street / Lexington Ave
Description: The Grill Room at The Four Seasons Restaurant is truly a New York phenomenon. Attracting New Yorkers for generations, it's played host to every major social event from JFK's 45th birthday party to Manhattan's last Grammy Awards celebration. Open Monday through Friday, the Grill Room is home to the original New York "Power Lunch." At night the Grill caters to those interested in flavorful cocktails and a bite to eat within Phillip Johnson's one-of-a-kind design.
edison
Level Contributor
102 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Not a Restaurant, an Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have had the pleasure of dining at the four seasons twice before over the last 15 years. On our daughter's 30 birthday, we returned for a special treat. It is simply first class in every respect. Hard work, attention to detail, perfectly prepared and presented food at the right pace with great wine selections. It is not cheap, but well worth the price. We opted for the tasting menu which, well, try it yourself.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank richard l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    88
    45
    24
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“DARE TO QUESTION”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2014

Everything's been said and written about this bastion of haute cuisine but the same goes with Methuselah. Maybe that's the problem with restaurants that've been around too long -- they needed to have closed a few seasons ago, like an overextended TV sitcom. Nonetheless, one quiet Spring evening, my friend and I sauntered down Park Ave and made our Saturday evening reservation at the Four Seasons at 7:30 sharp. I had first been to this Philip Johnson masterpiece in the early 80's and the veritable starkly elegant ambience has been kept and preserved. But I wish I can say the same for the food and service. What ought to be relaxed and enjoyable has been turned into one that's hurried and pressured. The wait staff almost always seemed too involved trying to serve way too many tables in too short of a time. Like in previous reviews here, orders were often forgotten or given to the wrong guest and the small niceties of fine dining - the staff explaining things to you and the glasses being filled when empty - were all gone. At best our dining experience here was lackluster. Too bad, as the shimmering drapery in Philip Johnson's design ought to have whisked the dining experience to one of romance -- but alas it wasn't enough to cover for the mistakes of 2014.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 6832white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

We live just a few blocks from The Four Seasons, but for some reason had not had a meal there in more than a decade. Like many people, we believed it was old, past its prime, a relic of the 1960s. In fact, nothing could be further from the truth. We were astonished at the extraordinary quality of the service, the food, the wine list - in fact, everything. Unlike so many 'trendy' NY restaurants, the space is BIG, and elegant, in a very clean and cold way, which we liked a lot! Service was absolutely superlative. And the prices were shockingly reasonable. A bargain, in fact. We are going to make the Four Seasons a regular now.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosenblumtv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Still The Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Still a beautiful restaurant! Service, food, presentation & ambiance stellar! I've been going to the restaurant for years probably since it opened & have never been disappointed love The Pool Room! Their style is fabulous people taking care of you constantly they want you to have a wonderful dining experience. Yes it's pricey but worth it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Don51644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lehigh Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
360 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 193 helpful votes
“Loved the Strawberry Shortcake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had a lovely dinner. Loved sitting in the upper area along the edge looking down on the room. Pre theater menu was pricey, but everything was and that was to be expected. Interesting to have the servers all in their own suits and ties. The asparagus appetizer wasn't too exciting, but the vegetarian entree made for me was heavenly. We were treated to an extra surprise of cotton candy. Lovely. The service was divine.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BBBBTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Four Seasons Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Four Seasons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing