We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Angelo & Maxie's - CLOSED

Angelo & Maxie's
Price range: US$41 - US$80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Gramercy Park
Cross street: 19th and Park Ave S.
Transit: Located near the union square subway station. Trains include the 4, 5, 6, N, Q, R, L, W,
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2011

We celebrated a birthday at Angelo & Maxie's and we all selected the table d'hôte. Included was a perfectly prepared filet mignon (the best I've ever had!), accompanied by a huge loaded baked potatoe (the size of two closed fists) and Caesar salad. The wine selection was varied both in tastes and in price. We opted for cheesecake for dessert.

The atmosphere was relaxed and very friendly.

The only two things I would have improved upon were the proximity of the tables (too close to other patrons) and the cleanliness of the washrooms.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank monsieur_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

46 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    21
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“One of the BEST steaks ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2011

This past trip to NYC my family gathered at Angelo & Maxie's to celebrate my brother's 30th birthday. Unfortunately, my family was finished with their dinner by the time I finally arrived from the airport. However, I ordered my dinner after arriving at the airport and had it only minutes after I arrived. It was AMAZING! This is a pricy restaurant, but it is located on Park Avenue in Manhattan. If you want an AMAZING steak that you would not normally have this is the place to go. Great service, great atmosphere, and great food!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amandac1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Huge portions!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2011

Lovely interior and lovely food, very tasty but huge portions. We ordered 3 sides and there were enough for 4 people. Worth every penny.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank kim015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“great steak ok service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2011

We went there on a Saturday with 4 Guys and although we had to wait a little it. We got seated. I had the rib eye and it was cooked perfect. all my friends were happy with there steaks also. The Spinach side dish was great. The atmosphere was a bit noisy and our service was a little rushed but we had fun people watching and overall had a great time. Its proubly not the best steak place in NY but fine for a night with the boys.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank sman4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service let us down”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2011

Except for the hostess that hung up our coats, there wasn't an ounce of friendliness in the place. Our whole dining experience felt like a drive by. When she poured our wine our waitress made it looked like she was watering plants. She poured the wine while she was walking by and it splashed all over. She was oblivious. Food was excellent; but it was dropped at the table like it was being tossed As a point of comparison Del Friscos is a bustling place and yet the service is very attentive If you are looking for great food and don't care about service, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank agh1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Angelo & Maxie's also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing