We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Dim Sum in New York City!”

Jing Fong Restaurant
Ranked #816 of 13,618 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
Valley Cottage, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Dim Sum in New York City!”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Restaurant is the biggest Chinese Restaurant in Chinatown! I will highly recommend this Restaurant for Special Dim Sum meal to my Family, relatives and friends! I am so delighted that I found a Chinese Restaurant with delicious Dim Sum! My family, friends and I all enjoyed our Special Dim Sum meal on Fourth of July! What a treat! Authentic Delicious Chinese Dim Sum! One of a kind! Spacious! Clean and staff are friendly. If you have a craving for a delicious Dim Sum...this is the place!
It's so nice to go shopping in Chinatown for some New York City souvenirs and then have a great Special Dim Sum meal with your family and friends!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Priscilla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    214
    74
    26
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
142 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Solid dim sum”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We had a good dim sum brunch on a recent Sunday morning and really enjoyed ourselves. It's your typical authentic Chinese dim sum place - very large hall, lots of reds and golds, plenty of carts to keep you busy. The service was good, we'd go there again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rich M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Genuine Hong Kong experience”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Arriving for Sunday lunch took a ticket and a 50 minute wait estimated. Time to explore China town and sample bubble tea at a quarter of the London price. Returned to Jing Fong and estimated wait time, spot on. Up the escalator to a large dining hall with all tables occupied and the bustle of a traditional Hong Kong restaurant (I lived and worked there for 15 years). Authentic dim sum - great selection and quality for the price. Not the best dim sum I have had, but really very good especially considering the price. Service friendly and attentive. Maybe confusing if your first visit to this type of dim sum trolley service. Be open minded, ask what the food is as They are wheeled by. Select and enjoy. Why do I rate this 5 star? Exceeded my expectations whilst the so called 3 Michelin star Le Bernardin did not - see earlier review.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AB888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Disgusting!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a business dinner here that involved a set menu.
None of the food was dim sum, so maybe coming by yourself will give you a very different experience?
The restaurant is a gigantic hall on the second floor. On the day we were there, there were three sections: a wedding (they had karaoke to enterain the entire restaurant and were pretty bad singers), a "general" section and our section.
The food was absolutely disgusting; the common denominator seemed to be "cheap", and we were never told what any of the courses were. One course was plain noodles, one course was a chopped-up cooked duck (head on the plate; bone splinters everywhere), one course was some of the slimiest mushrooms I have ever seen.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eva T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Forest, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Dim Sum by carts”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visiting from CA, where dimsum by cart is very plentiful. It was nice to find this place. Food was good, variety nice, large dining hall, really felt like how things use to be, HK Cantonese style. Not too fancy, modern, simple and the way things should to be. Glad this place is around and will be back when in NY. Seems like there are fewer dimsum places and more modern Mandarin style
bakeries, eateries.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RatingsfromMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jing Fong Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
 

Been to Jing Fong Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing