We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“See Newsies before it closes!”

Nederlander Theater
Book In Advance
More Info
US$126.31*
and up
War Paint on Broadway
Ranked #256 of 1,079 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Lawrenceburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“See Newsies before it closes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

The theater is only 1/2 mile from Penn Station, it was an easy walking distance up 7th Ave. We saw Newsies and were awed by the dancing and the ensemble singing together. Be forewarned, it is an older theater and there is little room between the rows. You forget this quickly once the play begins and you appreciate how cozy and close the seats are to the performance.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank wheels3993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    14
    4
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
146 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Mother and Sons with Tyne Daly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Run don't walk to catch this play at the beautiful Nederlander theater. It would be worth seeing just the theater interior, but the play, starring Tyne Daly is superb.
The set is beautiful as well.
Everyone in the show is excellent, and the sad subject matter is handled with sensitively and humor. A little slow in the beginning but it builds, so relax.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UpperWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Small Theater with great seats”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

We were in the 8th row, left side. We had no trouble seeing or hearing. We looked around, and it didn't appear that there was a bad seat in the house!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mystic, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Theater!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were in the Mezz CC section, seats 9-10, and they were perfect. It's such a small theatre, that I can't imagine there being a bad seat in the house. However, as with any theatre there are a lot of steps, so if you have any type of issue with walking ( broken ankle, etc), definitely call ahead to determine best seats for your situation. If you shop before the show, plan on holding your packages, as there is little to no room under the seats for storage. You can purchase a drink from the bar and bring it to your seat if you'd like. Prices aren't listed on the menu. I had an adult beverage (one shot of vodka mixed with soda and juice) and it was $16. It was served in a reusable Newsies travel mug, so really wasn't that expensive considering. We saw Newsies....extremely talented cast. Great family show. Impressed that many members of the cast were at the stage door after the show for pictures and autographs.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kris Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montana
Level Contributor
175 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful old theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

Great theatre for watching a Broadway show. The theatre is small, so you are closer to the action on stage. Comfortable seating.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wewannagoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nederlander Theater also viewed

 

Been to Nederlander Theater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing