We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good is GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Good

Good
Reserve with OpenTable
Good is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,417 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$75
Cuisines: Contemporary, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: West Village
Cross street: Between Bank St. and West 12th St.
Transit: 1,2, or 3 train to 14th Street Station. Walk a few blocks down 7th Avenue to Greenwich Avenue. Take a right & walk one block up Greenwich Avenue. We're on the left. A,C,E or L train to 14th Street station. Walk 1 block down 8th Avenue to Greenwich Avenue (on the left). Turn left & walk 3 blocks down Greenwich to #89.
Description: Good Restaurant offers a moderately prices, contemporary American menu in a casual, stylish setting. In the heart of New York's West Village neighborhood, our comfortable dining room & friendly staff provide a warm, welcoming atmosphere. Chef/Owner Steven Picker develops dishes that are all-American in spirit utilizing fresh, seasonal ingredients. The Zagat survey claims that our name is an understatement & our customers seem to agree. We simply aim to stay true to our goal of providing fresh, good food in a gracious manner. Good's menus are crafted to work with the seasons & we offer dishes to fit many moods. We take as much pride in providing a casual bite as we do in creating a special occasion meal. Our Dinner and Lunch menus offer a well-rounded selection of dishes that are familiar but with a modern twist. Our innovative American Brunch keeps us busy every weekend year-round & has become a weekly staple for many.
Maricopa, AZ USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good is GREAT!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is a lovely restaurant with a creative menu. My son ordered the mushroom and spinach omelette while my daughter enjoyed the pork belly hash and eggs;
they were very happy with their choices. Our waiter, John, was courteous and knowledgeable about the menu. I would definitely dine there again.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank pinot56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    57
    9
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Pleasantville, NY
Level Contributor
424 reviews
311 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
“Should be called Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

I had the carrot soup (that day's special) and the falafel, cucumber and yoghurt salad. Both were very good. Lots of tempting options on the menu, including a good looking burger, fish tacos, and the chile mac and cheese (which a friend of mine loved). Prices are very reasonable and the service excellent (well-informed, friendly, but not intrusive). This was my first visit, but I'll be going back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MJMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Green chile Mac * * * * *”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I am a big fan of this restaurant's Green chile Mac and cheese and their peanut salads. It's a great place to take friends from other countries out of state as it's in the West Village in an interesting location close to the subway and walking distance from the High Line and the water from park on the Hudson. It's not inexpensive but it's excellently prepared food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jtnycny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
907 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 925 helpful votes
“Lunch at Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

I recently had lunch here.I had the herb omelet, served with a some greens and a few fingerling potatoes. My companions had a large peanut salad lunch, and a small harvest lunch. All good as the name implies. I asked for bread which was served toasted, and I was charged for. Only four other diners. Not inexpensive, but an attractive place.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank jeremy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
86 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good Breakfast, Spectacular Homemade Chips & Dip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went last weekend, one of first tables to be served on Sunday right when they opened at 10 a.m.
Hubby had the Hampshire Pork Belly Hash and Eggs-- it was good, not great.
I had the Breakfast burrito which was a huge thing with salsa on the side. Added bacon which was uber-crispy and a nice size side order.
Adult daughter had the Good Breakfast-- Combo plate of 2 eggs with pancakes, home fries and bacon. She got the spicy home fries and they lived up to their name-- if you don't REALLY like SPICE, get the regular ones. Came with three small pancakes, enough to share a bite or two.
The star of the brunch was their homemade potato chips and onion dip. Wow. REALLY good!
Service was good, no problems, not too loud at this time of day. Good wait staff, kept the coffee hot and the water glasses filled.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CoastToCoastMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Good also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Good? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing