We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Big Wong King

Big Wong King
Ranked #2,772 of 13,548 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$15
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Chinatown
new england
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“We love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012 via mobile

Authentic, fresh Chinese food - great value, big portions. My teenage sons can't wait to visit Big Wong every time we are in Chinatown. Some favorites on the menu are chow fun, beef is better then chicken - a fuller flavor, salt and pepper shrimp, lobster, Kung Pao chicken. Service is fast, quite loud but it works in this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vmt123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    90
    24
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Great Value for Money, nearest thing to China in NY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

Looked for a Chinese Restaurant after visiting Liberty Island and Ellis Island. Choose this after examining many menus and seeing this one was reasonable well patronized, reasonable priced and looked reasonable clean.

Huge choice on the menu, chose sweet and sour pork, green beans and Young Chow Fried Rice. Food was excellant and as close to that that I had in China last year.

Had some excellent Tsingtao beer with the meal. Only downside is that if you want to pay with plastic you have to use the in-house ATM

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HammyDaveXXXL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A Local Favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Contrary to the previous reviewer's comments, I've eaten at Big Wong on many occasions, take out and eat in, and have never gotten sick. And I can attest that the (hanging) duck, chicken or pork is absolutely delicious. At least they don't sit in their own grease like in most fast food restaurants. Last night, I had the chicken/duck noodle soup, yummy. This place has its own character, like it or not, and it must be doing something right since the place is always crowded with locals. We chose to eat here instead of at the San Gennaro Feast and very happy to do so. You definitely won't get the ambiance of Four Seasons or 21 here, haha.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank csavyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Filthy”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2012

From the outside this looks like any other Chinese restaurant. Ducks hanging in the windows, man chopping at the front of the store. I've been to hundreds of them. But this one is different. The tiled floor has an oily texture as if it hadnt been washed in weeks. We slipped our way to the table.We observed the waiters using their hands to move food around on the plate between the kitchen and the table... Disgusting.

Garbage is pushed through the dining room. These restaurants are usually noisy with customer chat.... This was no different, but that the waiters joined in, shouting between themselves above the din, from one side of the dining room to the other, social chat and laughter.

My eldest son, who eat at these types of restaurant at least once a month, was convinced he'd get salmonella poisoning and only picked at his food.

If you had your eyes closed to the hygiene issues, the food was ok. Standard Chinese fare. Service was standard for this type of restaurant, all but non existent.

Not recommended

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank matt_d9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

We weren't sure where to eat in China town, my son looked up the reviews and this restaurant was recommended. The decor is nothing to talk about, but you get seated fast and it can be near other customers, which we didn't mind. We loved the beef in black bean sauce it was $5 together with rice. We also had a fish dish which was $16 without rice....it was slightly pricey but the fish was absolutely delicious.
I liked the quick service especially if you are in a hurry, and we went there for the second time just to get another taste of the beef in black bean sauce.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shehnaaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Wong King also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Big Wong King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing