We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mudville 9”
Review of Mudville 9

Mudville 9
Ranked #1,685 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$12
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: TriBeCa
Description: Mudville 9 has been family owned and operated since 1977. In 1991, the current concept was born. The menu back then was comprised of 10 flavors of chicken wings, hamburgers and chicken sandwiches. We have since expanded the menu to include a large assortment of American bar and grill foods including ribs, wraps, salads, starters and more.
Bellmawr, New Jersey
Level Contributor
137 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mudville 9”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Small restaurant and bar near city hall About 20 taps. Mostly craft beer on tap and more in bottles.
Some tap beer i try to order were out. Food was good. Service was very good.








.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kenny21NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    64
    21
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pathetic experience”
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Maybe we chose a bad day but we had a terrible experience here and ended up very disappointed. There were so many things which went wrong and we left feeling cheated and ripped off.
Table:
We had reserved the table at 7 but didn't get our table till 7:30. We were a group of 12 and 4 of us went for the premium beer and wings and 4 went for the regular beer and wings special. The other 4 ordered ala-carte.
Beers:
We were surprised to know that premium beer includes only a few $7 beers and not all the beers on the menu. We then waited almost 30 mins to get our beer and wings. I can understand abt the wings but I don't understand why it'd take 30 mins to get beer. So it was almost 8 by the time we got our wings and beer. And the premium beer just tasted like budlight.
Wings:
They missed getting the jerk wings which I badly wanted to try. I reminded the waitress 3-4 times but had to wait almost 90 minutes and got it when we were leaving. So forget trying all the 12 flavors you'll be lucky if you even get to try 3 or 4 flavors.
Service:
Very pathetic service, highly understaffed. So I thought the clock starts when we get our orders which was 8 PM. But barely after an hour around 9 PM we were told our time's up. So we just got an hour instead of 2 hours. At this point of time we got frustrated and decided to head to another bar and asked for our bill.
So for 40$ each most of us were able to have only 2 glasses of beer and maybe 10-15 wings each. This is ridiculously expensive.
Billing:
We were shocked to see the bill. Only 8 of us(4 regular and 4 premium) went for the unlimited special. But they charged premium for 10 of us. So they overcharged us by 100$. And to add they charged 18% gratuity for the pathetic service.
Needless to say we're never returning to this place. And even if we do, not going for the unlimited special.
We headed over to Dark horse after this and enjoyed it lot more.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 848SidK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great wings and beer”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

This is the place to go for outstanding wings and a fabulous selection of beers.
The next time I go, I'll make a dinner of the wings.
That being said, the ribs and the chicken were bland. Don't bother with them.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gregory C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasilia, DF
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

The food in mudville 9 is kind of spicy but is really good. Chicken wings is a good call but the burguers is the big point of the restaurant. Good service and clean place.

Helpful?
Thank xande90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chicken Wings”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Awesome wings !! The order came out really fast so I was expecting a blah wing. Wow I was wrong. Wings were meaty and crispy. The Jamaican Jerk flavor was terrific. The bar staff was great keeping us supplied with napkins and our beer mugs full.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caindog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mudville 9 also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mudville 9? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing