We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bottle of wine, tasty food, attractive decor”
Review of Barawine

Barawine
Reserve with OpenTable
Barawine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,112 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Wine Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Harlem
Cross street: 120th
Transit: Take the 2 or 3 trains to 116th Street
Description: Barawine is a neighbor restaurant in central Harlem. We are serving a full menu and a 250 wine list selections, 40 by the glass, in a charming decor.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A bottle of wine, tasty food, attractive decor”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We both enjoyed our dinner and wine. Service needs a little bit of help here and there but very friendly. Comfortable place to eat, take your time, enjoy your wine and slow down. Oh and they deliver.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brownstone76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    44
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Good quality food served in a 'buzzy' atmosphere”
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Barawine is a very popular and extremely busy restaurant in 'upmarket' Harlem. The food was very good (European rather than American) but most portions (and I never thought I would write this about an American restaurant) are small and relatively pricey. The atmosphere is 'buzzy' which makes it rather noisy, the staff are well trained and polite but the service is slow. However, I would definitely visit again but you need to order carefully as portion sizes vary quite considerably. It would seem that Barawine is 'flavour of the moment' in Harlem. Not really a family restaurant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Family_Wood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
136 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Good food, but incredibly slow service”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This place opened up a couple of months ago down the street from my block. I have been there 4 times now. At first, we were delighted. The decor is gorgeous, the atmosphere lively, and the menu enticing. The wine selection is great.

However, the service is INCREDIBLY slow. The first couple of times, we understood it was a new restaurant and that they were working out their quirks. That's completely understandable.

The last time we were there, though, we sat at our table for 25 minutes without a server. We finally had to ask the hostess for help. Finally, our server came and had an attitude that we had requested help (we honestly thought maybe no one knew we were there or something, we definitely asked for a server politely). Then we waited for our food for 45 minutes. We were basically eating our tablecloth, we were so hungry. At no time did anyone come around to apologize or follow up.

The food is very good, I've had the lobster carpaccio, the beef carpaccio, a bunch of the soups, the duck, and the steak. I had two desserts, one, the chocolate cake, was very good. The apricot tart was reheated and cold in the middle.

Anyway, we will probably give this place one more chance, but it's really annoying that the service was slow and rude. To be fair, the service was just slow the other times, this was the first time they were rude.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Real food in Harlem”
Reviewed 13 October 2013

A treasure that deserves its accolades. A great, sophisticated atmosphere. We ate outdoors on a balmy September night and relaxed into the more upmarket area of Harlem. The wines were excellent and the food was a pleasant surprise after the usual greasy American fare. After being told that lamb was a rare commodity in the States we braved the Lamb Shanks. The meat fell off the bone and was pronounced absolutely delicious (just like home made). The Salmon was equally good.
A great mid range price treat that is perfect for a romantic dinner or a stylish venue for small groups. A fabulous addition to the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Noshtalgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lovely wine spot”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

A friend of mine recommended we meet here for drinks on a recent trip to NYC. She lives in the area and it had just opened so she wanted to check it out.

Highly recommended for the happy hour offer of glasses of wine for $5 or sparkling wine for $6!

Not only was the house wine excellent (especially for that price) but the menu was great too. Just enough options not to be overwhelming and everything we ordered was delicious. If I lived nearby I'd be here all the time!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MapleLeafGirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Barawine also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Barawine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing