We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Atmosphere”
Review of Izakaya Mew

Izakaya Mew
Ranked #53 of 16,106 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$40
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

We found this place thanks to the TripAdvisor mobile app, it's "nearby" feature and contributors like you. Several reviews referred to this place as a "hole in the wall" which I assumed meant "cramped and dingy". I'm glad we went because Izakaya Mews is neither of these.

We arrived a few minutes before it opened and a short line had already formed outside. This was helpful as we almost walked past the restaurant's non-descript entrance. The place filled up within 5 minutes and remained packed for the entire time we were there. By the time we left, there was a healthy crowd forming in the lower lobby and out on the street.

The atmosphere was warm and inviting, the service was quick and friendly, and the sushi, dumplings, edamame and spicy tuna salad were excellent.

Go early to avoid a wait but definitely go...

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank TechChimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (928)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 928 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2018 via mobile

Really great sushi - as takeaways. Took not more than 10 min. I will definitely go back there again - and maybe try and get a table next time

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank susanneslothl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2018

We enjoyed our meals here. Lots of options, service was great, drinks were creative. Most importantly, sushi was very fresh. Perfect before a show as everything moves quickly but you are not rushed. It's a casual restaurant and has a nice vibe. Will definitely be back!

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kraydazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2018

Great place on 35th street. The entrance is quite anonymous and can easily be overlooked.

We went here without reservation but was lucky to get a table since the place was almost full. The acoustic is horrible and the place was quite noisy, but also part of the atmosphere.

The food was great (we tried the sushi, a deep fried and a stir fried dish). Including drinks and tips we paid 65 USD which was a great value.

The place was very crowded and when we were ready to pay it was difficult to get contact with a waitress. Besides that we only have positive things to say about this easily recommandable place.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Mellowtrax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2018 via mobile

Great sushi place and very reasonably priced given its position. We visited at lunch time on a weekday and it was nice and quiet.
They close between lunch and dinner (around 2 pm) so be aware of that. Also they don’t accept credit cards, which could be an issue since this wasn’t communicated until the end of the meal.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank rcs777707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Izakaya Mew also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Izakaya Mew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing