We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“White Horse”
Review of White Horse Tavern

White Horse Tavern
Ranked #4,177 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: West Village
Description: The SceneThe literary-minded tourists and the local lushes who haunt this joint on weekends know that Dylan Thomas may have been Welsh but it was the scotch that killed him. At the site of his debauched death, various portraits of the poet hang on the dark-paneled walls while indifferent regulars focus on the task at hand: The White Horse has stayed in operation since 1880 by serving its customers--before Thomas and after--one drink at a time.The FoodIn our health-conscious century, though, we know it's as likely to be the pub grub as the booze that does you in. Nonetheless, White Horse's full-flavored burgers, delectable grilled chicken sandwich and slab-cut fries are worthy of poetic excesses--and perhaps even early death. The appetizer classics, leaning heavily on the common denominator of "fried," range from excellent (amply stuffed potato skins and sharp jalapeno poppers) to uninspired (lukewarm buffalo wings).
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“White Horse”
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Felt like a fake London pub. The attitude behind the bar reflected the fact their fame rests on one or two famous drunks. Avoid. Nul points.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Upsidedownhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    43
    38
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great bar, great atmosphere”
Reviewed 10 April 2013

The pub was personally recommended to us during our stay in New York, and so we all piled down for the Saturday evening. What a great evening! The pub was very popular, and the restaurant area was full. The bar area was busy, and overall there was a brilliant atmosphere. The staff were very friendly, and the drinks flowed a plenty!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenPayne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great welcome - great food”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Following a harbour cruise out to The Statue of Liberty we found ourselves somewhat hungry. We just happened to find this wee gem of a place and went in.

From start to finish we knew we had made a great choice, We were given a fine welcome by the waitress - and enjoyed some good chit chat before ordering food and drinks.

There was a fine choice of good pub food to choose from - we all opted for burgers of various descriptions. Food was served and looked delicious and tasted delicious.

A few more drinks and some fine banter with the staff and we had to go - continuing our sightseeing that day.

We all left happy and satisfied at having found such a nice place by chance. I just hope I can find this place again when I return to this fine city.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CamCam68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old New York Style Pub Style”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great ambiance, great pub food, tap beers, and NY attitude. Sit in the same chairs that Dylan Thomas, Hemingway and other NY scene writers sat and had a drink in.

Food is surprisingly good, a GREAT burger and fries. Open late, open early Sundays.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fast E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
62 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good pint”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This was our nearest Pub and they serve simple but good food and a good range of beers and other drinks. Its another must see. Historic links being a favoured Pub of Dylan Thomas. The staff are friendly and helpful . You can sit outside if its warm or if you are a soker.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpauline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed White Horse Tavern also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to White Horse Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing