We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific -As Usual”
Review of The Sea Grill

The Sea Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Sea Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #524 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 5th & 6th Aves
Transit: B,D,M,F trains at 47-50 Streets Rockefeller Center
Description: The Sea Grill at Rockefeller Center is an iconic seafood restaurant in Midtown NYC serving the freshest fish for lunch, dinner and elegant private events.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Terrific -As Usual”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

We eat here several times a year and have never been disappointed.
The location at Rockefeller Center makes it a perfect spot to see the area and then enjoy a very good meal
When friends come in from out of town we will come here for dinner
Service is always good and friendly.
Their is a very good choice of seafood with the menu constantly changing
Not cheap- but well worth it

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Okvik1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    172
    71
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
95 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb food”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

One of the nicest seafood chowders we have had. Followed by beautiful sea bass and Chatham cod. We sat outside and enjoyed an early evening meal with great wine too. Service was excellent - just the right balance. Would highly recommend if you love seafood.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
59 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent service, great food”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Been living in NYC for more than 25 years and it happened to be the day after Mother's day. I was walking around the Rockefeller plaza and decided to have lunch. Since every corner was busy, I decided to try this restaurant and boy was I surprised. The service was nothing but Excellent! From the time I was greeted by the host to the waiter and bus person gave me the best service on a busy Monday afternoon. They had a pre-fixed menu and thought I would try it and I chose the salad with lobster roll combo. The lunch menu was a bit pricey but for the experience and the ambience, it was definitely worth it.

Helpful?
1 Thank Beachlovergurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sidcup, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fine dining with a different kind of view”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Fine dining restaurant in Rockefeller Center and overlooking skating rink. Makes for a different view whilst dining. Good menu and food cooked very well. Would not have ordered sides if we had realised main courses came with own veggies anyway. Did not see this written on menu when ordering. Our 7 year old daughter especially loved the chocolate mousse, oreo crumb and gummy worm pudding! Service very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aliandizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
567 reviews
377 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Two Martini Lunch with Sushi”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Sometimes you just have to let your hair down. The Rockefeller Center was getting a make over as it moves from Skating rink to summer party so the outdoor activity was not strong. The food - a big huge sharing plate of Sushi and Sashimi was terrific. As were our martini's.

Fun to be the happiest people at the Sea Grill for lunch as we celebrated a new business win. Guests around us were travelers or business folks. Handsome crowd. Great food.

Make a reservation. I do enjoy going when you can watch the skaters....but it's good anytime of the year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stylelust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sea Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to The Sea Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing