We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shula's Steak House - CLOSED

Shula's Steak House
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 8th Avenue
Transit: A,C,E,1,2,3,7,N,R,W,Q,S to 42nd Street (Times Square) & 8th Avenue Bus
Description: Shula's Steak House is ranked among North America's top ten steakhouses. Since 1989, our custom center cuts of Premium Black Angus Beef accompanied by our aging process have made up the award winning SHULA CUTS, the best beef money can buy. Each restaurant is themed after the 1972 Miami Dolphins' "Perfect Season" - the only team in NFL history to finish a season undefeated. At Shula's Steak Houses, one of the featured entrees is the 48 oz Porterhouse. Those who finish it join Shula's 48-Ounce Club, which currently has more than 34,420 members. In addition to exceptional steaks, Shula's offers fresh seafood, lamb and daily chop specials. We also offer an award-winning wine list featuring a variety of selections to make your dining experience a perfect one. Featured in Opentable's Diner's Choice for Best Steakhouse - Manhattan. Conveniently located in the heart of the Broadway theater district and adjacent to the E-Walk entertainment complex.
lanarkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Just arrived home from my visit to new york. Had a nice meal in shulas steak house which is inside the westinn times square hotel. Me and my fiance both had fillet steak and shared the fries as the portions were big. The steak was cooked exactly to our liking and alberto our waiter was very nice in answering any questions we had. The restraunt is nicely laid out and was not that busy when we arrived giving us privacy during our meal.

Our meal was that good we decided to visit the very next night and because we came back and the recognised us, our waiter brought us over a nice complimentary chocolate cake to share after our meal which was very nice. Thank you for great meal and will visit again if ever in new york

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleary11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
cleary11, thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City and we'd also like to thank you for writing an amazing review. We are absolutely thrilled that you and your fiancé thoroughly enjoyed your Shula's experience.

It sounds like you both made delicious selections. We're glad that your steaks were cooked to perfection and that the taste was superb. We'll make sure to let Alberto and everyone else know that they made a wonderful impression. We're very fortunate to have such thoughtful people working with us.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when patrons take the time out of their day to leave a fabulous review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed. We love the picture you added to your review too! Thanks for showing off our delicious 7 layer chocolate cake!

If you ever need anything for a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we look forward to seeing you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

263 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    79
    33
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Viera, Florida
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent and Convienient.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

We enjoyed breakfast and dinner here during our stay at the Westin Times Square. It is convenient from the upstairs hotel bar or via elevator from the ground floor. We tried to eat at several other restaurants that evening and were met by huge lines. Maybe due to it's pricey menu or it's out of the way venue we were seated immediately without a reservation. We both had the lobster bisque which was served with large chunks of lobster and a dab of heavy cream. Excellent! Followed by prime rib with yorkshire pudding and garlic mashed potatoes. It paired nicely with the Merlot. The steaks were served at the requested temperature and the portions were large. I hadn't eaten since my cheese danish breakfast and I was still unable to finish it all. The waiter was knowledgeable, couteous and prompt in his service. As mentioned it is a bit pricey. Around $175 for both meals, wine and tip but worth it for the special dinner it was for us. I highly recommend this restaurant for those special occasions.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
David S, we want to thank you for leaving a fantastic review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City. It’s great to hear that we were able to accommodate you during your search for a restaurant.

We couldn't be happier to hear that you loved our lobster bisque. Our chef has definitely perfected the recipe for this delicious dish! You made a wonderful choice with our Prime Rib too. We take great pride in our beef and feel that it's imperative to always have our steaks cooked to the exact temperature that is desired by our patrons. We’re glad that our food exceeded your expectations.

Your recommendation truly means a lot to us. We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We really appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to write a fabulous review. Please know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our restaurant, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very good but Expensive! ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

There was 4 of us. We ordered waters and the specials and the bill was $240. Tiny portions very expensive but steaks was wonderful!

Helpful?
Thank Melynda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Melynda B, thank you for writing a nice review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City. We are extremely happy to hear that everyone loved our SHULA-CUT steaks.

When we say that we serve the best beef that money can buy, we genuinely mean it. Less than 1% of all beef qualifies for our SHULA-CUT. It's this high discriminating selection process that is reflective on the price point our steaks. In addition to this, our attentive staff are always attuned to the needs of our patrons.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a great review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A better Shula's experience than others I've tried”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Good service, well-presented and cooked food. A little quiet, but this was welcomed given tables are located very close together

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Khatls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
KelvinATL, we want to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City and we'd also like to thank you for leaving a great review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time at our restaurant.

We'll absolutely make sure to share your kind comments with everyone here. From our culinary team to our waitstaff, we've got some of the best people around working with us. They truly go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our guests.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. It really means a lot when guests take the time out of their day write a nice review. We hope you realize that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see you back next time you're in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
134 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Best steak”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

My husband and son got the Filet Oscar. I have never seen so much lump crab meat on filet. The service was fantastic

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tntraveler62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Business_Manager, Public Relations Manager at Shula's Steak House, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
tntraveler62, thank you for writing a phenomenal review and we'd also like to thank you for choosing to dine with us during your time in New York City. We are ecstatic to hear that your entire family loved their experience at Shula's.

Your husband and son made a great choice for their entrees. Our Filet Oscar is a spectacular dish. We definitely go all out with the amount of succulent lump crab meat that we put on top of our SHULA-CUT filet.

We noticed your comments about our amazing staff too. We are very fortunate to have such wonderful people working with us. They really do go above and beyond to ensure that everything is always perfect for our patrons. We'll make sure to pass along your kind remarks to them.

We want to thank you for sharing your experience with us and the TripAdvisor community. We truly appreciate when guests take the time out of their day to leave a thoughtful review. We hope you realize how much it means and know that this kind gesture doesn't go unnoticed.

If we can ever do anything to accommodate you in a future visit to our location, please don't hesitate to contact us. We're here for you!

Thank you, and we hope to see everyone back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shula's Steak House also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing