We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience, so-so food”

Porto-bello Restaurant
Ranked #2,566 of 13,684 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: Bleecker Street
Transit: A, C, D, E, F, & V trains to West 4th Street.
Putnam County, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great ambience, so-so food”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Lovely place, friendly and efficient service. Non-descript food. Pretty much what you'd expect at a sports bar.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RoscoeFairview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    22
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marathon, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a find”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Walking the neighborhood to find a lunch place, we two ladies happened on Porto Bello. Small cozy place. We ate outside. I had the most wonderful clams and shrimp in red sauce. The sauce was light! Not heavy tomato like most. Wonder, light and flavorful. My friends had chicken in mushroom sauce. Also, wonderful. Also, enjoyed talking to the proprietor.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bpickard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“romantic trattoria near NYU, delicious!”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Mmmmm, we had the mussels and the lasagna Bolognese, both wonderful. Enjoyed a late alfresco lunch on a gorgeous summer day. Several clocks on the walls, but not hurried.

-Delicious desserts from a tray & worth the calories.
-near NYU
-reasonably priced
-open air
-good service

[note: at time of writing the website above is for a pizza restaurant with the same name]

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ILikedTheColor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central NJ
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Atmosphere + Good Food + Location = Winner!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Amazing atmosphere and location, relatively inexpensive with well stocked bar with all the Italian goodies. I'm an Italian foodie, so I'm kind of hard to impress. I'd say the food here is solidly good, not ethereal, but quite good. What's magical here are the Italian guys tending to you with love, like you've stepped off the ferry in Napoli and your uncles take you home for family dinner. They're awesome. Perfect place for dinner and walking around the village afterwards, this native NY'er highly recommends Porto Bello!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JenniferAer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 10 July 2013

July, I get back to New York and I got nice food at Porto bello restaurant in Thompson street. Excellent! It's not expensive place, at all!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Antony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Porto-bello Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Porto-bello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing