We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loud, Irish, Authentic”

Playwright Tavern & Restaurant
Ranked #1,104 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: American, Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Drinks, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
220 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Loud, Irish, Authentic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Looking for a real Irish restaurant and bar? This is it! Employees even had authentic accents. Fish and chips are huge as is the Shepherds Pie. Mostly Irish delights but a few American dishes to satisfy others appetites.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hogiepaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback. We are so pleased you enjoyed your time with us and realize us for what Playwright Tavern truly is. Hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    105
    34
    14
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

We went here for dinner before catching a show in the evening. It's a perfect location if you want to eat close to the theatres around Broadway. The potato skins appetizer are great and were, by far, the best part of the meal. The rest of the meal, however, was also good. The portabella sandwich was great as well. The food is reasonable priced for the area. Look, we all know you're going to pay more in New York, specifically in Times Square, so once you get over that, it's a good experience. The $8 draft was a bit much, but if you check the specials board before ordering, you can catch a good deal. I'd go back again!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! Please visit us again soon- it's always a pleasure to serve you.

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wexford ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Home from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Excellence food, friendly help full staff, good bar downstairs, good atmosphere in this busy bar, staff make everyone feel at home. one of best Irish Bars in Manhattan

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank micheal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your kind words. We are so pleased that you feel that way when you are with us. We hope we will see you again soon!

To next time,
Playwright Tavern Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great for quick pre-theater dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

I had 45 minutes and they delivered a satisfying, fun dinner! A glass of chardonnay, a lovely fresh spinach salad and a really good French onion soup and off I went to my show. I couldn't have asked for more, and all at a reasonable price.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank jackandjill21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so pleased you enjoyed your experience with us and hope you will return the next time you're in town to see a show!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camden, Delaware
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Desserts, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stepped into the Playwright after having seen "All The Way" with Bryan Cranston for a night cap. I had the chocolate cake and a glass of 12 Year Old scotch. The cake was so rich and delicious, it hit the spot just right. The scotch was also reasonably priced at $10 a glass. Not bad for NYC. The atmosphere is just what you would expect from an Irish Pub, so no need to expound. Definitely worth giving it a look if that's what you're in the mood for.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Allison D, Guest Relations Manager at Playwright Tavern & Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Thanks so much for your feedback! We are so pleased we were able to provide a great night cap after the show for you! We hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Playwright Tavern Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Playwright Tavern & Restaurant also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Playwright Tavern & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing