We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice stop”

Lunella Restaurante
Ranked #3,790 of 13,639 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Little Italy
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice stop”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My husband and I stopped off for supper and had a very nice experience. The food was good, The service was excellent. We enjoyed a nice leisurely late supper.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pich1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    104
    39
    31
    60
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Texas
1 review
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing food! Amazing staff! Best carpaccio di manzo. Jose and Antonio are pure class! My daughter and I were treated royally! Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cwalyuchow5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just so-so”
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

This really has the feel of a typical tourist restaurant - it does the minimum required. A hot day in May, busy holiday, and the service was ok - a little variable depending on who you got. The younger waiters were very perfunctory (tips at ca 18% are automatically added to the bill, so not much need to work for them) though an older waiter was warm and genuine. The orecchiette with broccoli rabe was overcooked, and the orecchiette themselves were small, and tasted like supermarket dried pasta (no artisan fancy stuff here) and the whole dish was swimming in about a quarter-inch of oil and water in a bowl, which was really unappetising. For three pastas, three beers amd a coke, an appetiser, a single liqueur and a single coffee it came to ca $130 with the automatic gratuity. Meh. There are many other places a few blocks away in The East village that would provide a much better meal at around $100 all-in.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“excellent choice”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Several friends and I visited New York and wanted to eat in Little Italy. We have been there several times before and wanted to try a new place. We were not disappointed with this choice. The service was excellent! The wait staff was more than attentive and prepared a few items with requested variations such as chopping the clams in the baked clams. Considering this is NY and we had a full 4 course meal (sharing appetizer and salads) with wine and several bar drinks, coffee and dessert, the tab was under $50 per person which was quite good.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with Outstanding Food”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

It was my first time in New York. Our cab dropped us off in Little Italy after being referred here by the NYPD officer at the 911 Memorial. There were many places but the guy at the front persuaded us to try this place. We got to sit outside ..just like what you think of when you imagine Little Italy in NYC. We had wine and great pasta. The service was great and the food was wonderful. The pasta just melted in our mouths. There were four of us and we had everything from shrimp and linguini , lasanga to lobster and steak. It was so yummy. We got to meet Lunella herself who was stopping by to prepare for her grandson's party. She was so nice and stopped by our table twice to talk. We will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Indimom0721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lunella Restaurante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lunella Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing