We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good pre-theatre restaurant”

Lattanzi Ristorante
Ranked #614 of 13,619 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 9th Ave.
Transit: Times Square
Description: Now in the 25th year, this "winning" Restaurant Row Italian is renowned for its "Roman style specialties". (Don't miss "those fried artichokes"), "gracious services" and "after the theater" crowd departs for a more relaxed meal.
Silver Spring, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good pre-theatre restaurant”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Our group of 6 had an excellent pre-theatre meal. The wait staff knew exactly how to time our meal to get us out the door in time to make our curtain. Everyone's choice was delicious, and the pre-dinner drinks were also good. They even split our check among the group and allowed us to pay separately.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    190
    68
    27
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
304 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
“Fantastic pre theater lunch”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed a fantastic pre- matinee lunch at Lattanzi. Starting off with the homemade matzoh drizzled in olive oil which was delicious we then went on to the signature dish- grilled artichokes- delicious! At no time did our water glasses fall below half. I had the sea bass which was light and moist. My husband enjoyed the mixed grill. The side dishes were nicely prepared fresh veggies- just steamed and lightly seasoned- not over cooked as so many restaurants do. Our service was impeccable. We finished the meal with the ricotta cheese cake - don't skip the dessert! Total bill for two including 1 glass of wine, 2 appetizers 1 dessert 2 coffees 2 entrees without tip was about $115. Not at all an inexpensive lunch but we were very satisfied with the dining experience.

Helpful?
Thank MM8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Very disappointed”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

We were so disappointed after reading reviews. The service was not very attentive and slow. We sat with finished plates 20 to 30 minutes. Didn't refill water. Just super slow. We had looked forward to their signature artichoke appitizer, but they were out. I ordered the lamb shank which was very salty and desperately needed something sweeter to balance it. I asked for mint jelly and told they didn't have it and they looked at me like I was crazy. I didn't even eat a quarter of it and did not ask for a doggie bag - none was offered either. The broccoli rabe was good as well as my husbands filet (hard to mess up a filet). Don't waste your money. Too many other good restaurants out there. I will NOT go back

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loni P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,382 reviews
960 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 733 helpful votes
“Unique Food on Restaurant Row”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We ate lunch at Lattanzi before a mantinee. It was a good choice for pre-theater as it's on New York's famous restaurant row in the theater district. I wasn't sure what to expect as the type of cuisine is Roman Jewish - that combination was new to me.
The restaurant is cozy. The main room is a little dark and more suited for a cold winter night. However they do a sunnier sun room and even a few tables set up outside for a warm summer evening.
The service was friendly and helpful. They did a good job, although at times the wait staff was not in the area, it seemed like maybe they could have used one more staff member working the floor. However, the staff that was on duty was working hard to make sure everything was going well for the diners.
I had zucchini blossoms stuffed with ricotta. It was more rustic than zucchini blossoms I have had at other places, but they were delicious. I loved the flavorful Mariana sauce that was served as a dipping sauce.
For my entree I had a seafood pasta. I had a half of lobster and plenty of shrimp. Again the homemade pasta was delicious.
Dessert was peach sorbet served in a frozen peach. It was full of fruit flavor and again - delicious.
We were pleased with our lunch here and felt it will be kept on our list of places around Broadway for pre or post theater dining. Unique and delicious.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syosset, NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect for Before Theater”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Located on Restaurant Row on West 46th Street it is within walking distance of the theaters. This neighborhood gem has all of the features we love in a restaurant. Takes and commits to reservations, excellent food, attentive service and a noise level that allows normal conversation. With all of the choices on restaurants on this street we make Lattanzi a favorite.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lattanzi Ristorante also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Lattanzi Ristorante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing