We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good spot to try”

Knickerbocker Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Knickerbocker Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #573 of 13,830 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$40 - US$80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighbourhood: Greenwich Village
Cross street: 9th Street
Transit: The 6 train at Astor place, or the R & N to 8th street are just a block away. Other stations like Union Square & West 4th street are just a short walk away and have most train lines.
Description: We are a Classic American Steakhouse in the heart Greenwich Village. Wood panel walls, and comfy booths, give the feel of an earlier era. In business for over 40 years, serving Great American Fare and our Famous 28 oz T Bone Steaks. We feature Live Jazz on Friday and Saturday Evenings starting at 9:00 till 1:00. Harry Connick Jr. got his start at the Knick. We have our share of local celebrities from Chris Noth, Alec Baldwin, F. Murray Abraham, Josh Charles, Jessica Lange, just to name a few. Good Food & Good Jazz is what we are. Most items are all made on premise, from house made desserts, ice creams and sorbets, to our house made pastas and house smoked salmon, and our popular Caviar Pie. We pour a good drink at reasonable prices, as are our portions of food. Our T Bone Steaks include creamed spinach and mashed potatoes.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good spot to try”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My wife and I tried the Knickerbocker and had a great time. Very old school feel. Food was good (not great) but certainly worth a try. Staff was friendly. Cookie would have been fantastic with more ice cream.......but don't miss it either way!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank mikeschlueter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    120
    31
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
474 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Best chicken pot pie ever”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

You have to have the chicken pot pie with truffle shavings! Yes, it may take at least 20 minutes but well worth the wait. The best I have ever had (the crust, the filling, it was all good). It was huge and could be shared by two people depending on your appetite. I also had their onion soup and it had that nice cheesy browned top and lovely broth taste. The entrees were all huge so I doubt most will need to order appetizer or dessert. Pair it with a nice cold beer and a happy belly it is. The waitress was very attentive and provided excellent service.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Where_to_travel_next
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Family Favorite”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We started coming here in 2001 when my son started college at nearby NYU. Some 13 years later that son and now his brother still live in NYC. And we still come here. Whether we are toasting a birthday or just catching up after months apart, it's our first choice for celebrations. Although the food is reliably tasty, it's mostly the homey, neighborhood feel that draws us back time and time again. Waitstaff are excellent; warm, welcoming, and unafraid to offer intelligent menu suggestions. We typically order the T-bone for the entire table; the fried onions atop are definitely worth the additional expense. Sides are enormous; the creamed spinach is wonderfully decadent, but even the more prudent bright green steamed broccoli is delicious and prepared perfectly al dente. We've never had room for dessert, and generally stagger home with heavy doggy bags. We are very, very fond of this place; it's become a lovely family tradition. .

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia6604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East London, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“old worlde restaurant”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

our daughter insisted we have lunch and try their FAMOUS T bones. A most pleasant experience.The service was most attentive. The meal delicious.
Coming from South Africa we found the cost of our lunch to be outrageous. I must admit they do have a wide variety of well priced meals on their menu.
Suggest a visit but be careful what you order

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kenzie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
351 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“As Great As Always”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is a go-to steak house and all around restaurant. From appetizers to dessert, everything was excellent. The beet salad with 3 types of beets and goat cheese was delicious as was everyone else's salads and the lobster bisque soup. Bass was broiled to perfection, as was the skirt steak. The standby t-bone for two (also comes for one, three or four) with creamed spinach and mashed potatoes was outstanding as always. There is also a very nice wine selection by the class or bottle. We ended with the choclate mousse cake for the table. Even with four of us we could not finish it.
Our wait person was personable, efficient and a delight. Everyone at our table fell in-love with her. We will be back often.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ronco0807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Knickerbocker Bar & Grill also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Knickerbocker Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing