We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good for Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Joe Allen

Joe Allen
Reserve with OpenTable
Joe Allen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #158 of 13,552 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: Opened in May 1965 by Joe Allen himself, Joe Allen Restaurant in New York City has always aimed to serve good food at reasonable prices. With a casual, yet professional ambience, Joe Allen Restaurant is ideally located for several Broadway theatres, making it a great choice for a meal before or after the show. Joe Allen Restaurant in New York is open for lunch and dinner seven days a week, and also serves brunch on Sunday. The regional American menu changes daily and offers a wide range of choices. Accompanying your meal, the wine list features carefully chosen selections from around the world. The bar also stocks an impressive array of imported and draught beers.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“good for Theatre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is always an excellent choice. Love the Tom Collins. Had the meatloaf and gravy. good burgers too. A good spot to catch actors. We saw a Doctor Who!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    347
    297
    78
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great after-show dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

The bartender at Joe Allen made the best martini I've ever had -- and that's saying something. Our waiter was wonderful, and the food was great. The house red was tasty. The frites were amazing, and my husband loved his meatloaf. Would definitely go again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious food & great friendly service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Ate in Joe Allen's last night and it was delicious! We didn't have a reservation but that wasn't a problem, we were shown straight to a table and given great service! The food was delicious! Would definitely go back :) Amy & Adam from Ireland xxx

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amyhayward91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
310 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Always the same”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Being the same is good when it comes to this restaurant. It's always been a hang-out for theater people and it remains the same. The food is never great (but very good) and the room is usually crowded and loud. I have loved this restaurant in London and Paris, but the New York one is the home base. It's been around as long as I can remember and I hope it's always there. The service is friendly and fast. The drinks are excellent. Make a reservation or you'll have a big problem getting in.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank corsicus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A delicious classic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

My earliest memory of this old stand by is meeting a few famous movie/Broadway stars and actually talking with them.My star struck friends and I made it a regular "go to' just for the glamour.
I don't know how the waiters are so graious and manage to get the food out on a timely basis to meet "Show Times" but they do.
I say start with the banana cream pie and then anything you order will be downhill! Seriously all of their classic American food is good.
Decade after decade it continues to satisfy+ bonus of the celebrity sightings.
Paula@paulamarks.com

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TAHKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Joe Allen also viewed

 

Been to Joe Allen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing