We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Blockheads

Blockheads
Ranked #4,386 of 13,820 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I went back to this place cause they were advertizing new and improved menu and indeed they have few new items and few new drinks of course every location is different and are the drinks but if you just want to have a good moment with friends or fiance and want to get the beat Margaritas in town well Blockheads is the best place, sometimes the waiter/waitress are not in the beat mood of all but that cant be a reason of not enjoying you time here! My favorite is fajita and the mexican salad (to share is huge)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynadlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic frozen margaritas!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Living in a non-Mexican area, I look for good Mexican food wherever I travel. Not always easy to find! Blockhead's offers a wide range of the typical mexican fare (no enchiladas or chile rellenos unfortunately) served in a casual style. The food is plentiful and very tasty with interesting choices - brown rice is even available as a substitute. As a non-Mexican food fan, my husband tried the shrimp rice bowl and enjoyed it. Try to sit in the outside dining area - the music inside is very loud! The servers are excellent, friendly and helpful. And definitely have a frozen margarita!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good fare!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were looking for a place where locals eat and we found it! The fare was surprisingly good! I would hit this place up again if I was in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aunt_Tootsie_77584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid food”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've done take out here twice so far (definitely gotta eat THERE sometime as the margaritas are supposed to be a huge draw) and been pretty satisfied for the most part. A burrito is around $11 but they are freaking huge - didn't have a ton of flavor but it was just high quality food all around. Without a doubt I would say eat at the restaurant to see what this place is all about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Mexican Treat”
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Had a lovely meal here and really enjoyed the frozen margarita's, great value, good atmosphere not very buggy friendly but found that to be the case generally in NYC.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DublinPolly08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blockheads also viewed

 

Been to Blockheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing