We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stomach is always pleased! ”
Review of Blockheads

Blockheads
Ranked #3,918 of 13,826 Restaurants in New York City
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“My stomach is always pleased! ”
Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

Love blockheads when I'm in the mood for Mexican fare and drinks! Had the jerk chicken burrito for the first time and I loved it and wanted more! Good drinks and good food, what else is there to ask for? The atmosphere is lively and usually crowded so don't go if you want peace or quiet! There are many locations as well, take ur pic. Each one is a little different, different size but the food and drinks remain YUM!

Helpful?
Thank klasallejr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    20
    8
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 9 September 2013 via mobile

I went back to this place cause they were advertizing new and improved menu and indeed they have few new items and few new drinks of course every location is different and are the drinks but if you just want to have a good moment with friends or fiance and want to get the beat Margaritas in town well Blockheads is the best place, sometimes the waiter/waitress are not in the beat mood of all but that cant be a reason of not enjoying you time here! My favorite is fajita and the mexican salad (to share is huge)

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynadlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conception Bay South, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic frozen margaritas!”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Living in a non-Mexican area, I look for good Mexican food wherever I travel. Not always easy to find! Blockhead's offers a wide range of the typical mexican fare (no enchiladas or chile rellenos unfortunately) served in a casual style. The food is plentiful and very tasty with interesting choices - brown rice is even available as a substitute. As a non-Mexican food fan, my husband tried the shrimp rice bowl and enjoyed it. Try to sit in the outside dining area - the music inside is very loud! The servers are excellent, friendly and helpful. And definitely have a frozen margarita!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marget D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Suprisingly good fare!”
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We were looking for a place where locals eat and we found it! The fare was surprisingly good! I would hit this place up again if I was in the area.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aunt_Tootsie_77584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Solid food”
Reviewed 5 May 2013

I've done take out here twice so far (definitely gotta eat THERE sometime as the margaritas are supposed to be a huge draw) and been pretty satisfied for the most part. A burrito is around $11 but they are freaking huge - didn't have a ton of flavor but it was just high quality food all around. Without a doubt I would say eat at the restaurant to see what this place is all about.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blockheads also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Blockheads? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing