We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #56 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Great location just off Times Square, rooms nice, although the place has just opened, Times Square view from the room was not great and not worth paying extra for. Lobby shop was very expensive for soda, prob best use the cranberry deli next door, seemed to be a load of security staff on duty all of the time, not sure the reason. Staff were always friendly and courteous though, so no complaints. Internet seemed expensive at 17 a night. Overall the room was fresh and clean and the location was great to easily access the shops and attractions. I would recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank Adrian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,973)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,143 - 3,149 of 3,973 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2013

I had reserved the room well before the hotel opened, and despite a few glitches, would highly recommend. We stayed for three nights mid-December. The room was new, immaculate and spacious, especially for NYC. Unfortunately we were given a room on the 9th floor without a view and couldn't change it. The elevators didn't always function well, and the TV cable repeatedly malfunctioned. We didn't get phone data connections in our room, so had to purchase a wireless connection. The staff was consistently courteous and apologized for some of the glitches. We were invited to a "trial run" breakfast prior to the opening of the new diner. Excellent food and service.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank hrk_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 24 December 2013

Dear Hrk_9

Greetings from NYC and thank you very much for choosing Hyatt Times Square. I am thrilled to hear that the team took good care of you and that your were able to "peak behind the curtain" so to speak and assist us with our trial runs in the diner.

I am very sorry that you experienced some glitches with regard to elevator service and TV signal but I truely appreciate your understanding and we are working dilligently to address these issues as they arise and I feel that we are making strong progress to minimise these and imprve our overall product.

Thank you again for staying and for taking the time to share with us your feedback,

With very best regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

What a wonderful weekend! The hotel was clean, spacious, modern and in the best location! Right outside of Time Square and short walk to Rockefeller Center, Radio City Music Hall and a personal favorite Magnolia Bakery! We were in a king suite with connecting queen room and it was incredibly spacious. Good for a group of girls and mother of the bride! We stay in the city at least once a year and these rooms have more space than most we have stayed in. Bellman and Housekeeping were always kind and helpful with whatever we needed. The best part about the trip was the incredible staff. WOW!! My girlfriends had never been to the city before and Andrew was so helpful in getting them recommendations and information on what to do for our girls weekend! Thanks for being so helpful! Kerry, Yenny and Deedee were wonderful! They were so welcoming every time we walked in to the hotel! They are apart of our stories that we will have forever!

Overall a wonderful hotel for any occasion. I cannot wait to go back when the rooftop bar is open! Hopefully we will be able to swing by for a night before we head to Europe for our honeymoon! I highly recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Great View from 1601! Beds were so comfortable...Pull out couch was also very comfy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

One block from Times Square. You couldn't be any more central. For a brand new hotel, there were none of the expected glitches. The entire staff are outstanding. Any requests were delt with immediately. Parts of the hotel are still not available such as the restaurant, but there are hundreds of other restaurant choices within blocks. This hotel will be on our repeat list.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmmwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I stayed in the Hyatt Times Square a week after it opened. The bellman made sure I didn't leave anything in the taxi. Check in was exceedingly smooth, and the staff at the Front Desk were very friendly and helpful, and made me feel right at home.

The location is great - just a block from Times Square.

The hotel itself feels almost like a boutique, a little rare for a Hyatt outside of the Andaz branded ones. The hotel was still ironing out a few kinks from the opening. The elevators were not working properly, and there were loads of workmen putting on finishing touches here and there.

The room was a little on the small side, but the bed was super comfortable, and the bathroom had a great shower and heated floor tiles.

Breakfast was relatively inexpensive, especially for New York. It consisted of a smallish but tasty buffet. It could have used a couple more healthier options like fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola, but had a variety of pastries, meats, cereals, and an omelet bar.

Throughout the stay the service was great - not always what you expect in New York. I definitely recommend it and would stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

We just stayed here last weekend for our first trip to NYC. The stay was absolutely perfect. The staff was great, the room was extremely clean and sylish. Use the knowledge of the concierge desk, they helped us book a helicopter tour and a broadway show. The helicopter tour (which I also highly recommend) was cheaper with them than it would've been booked online.The 2 headed shower and PLUSH robes are heaven. The only tiny downfall... although the lobby is beautiful and inviting, it isn't very big and waiting for someone downstairs isn't that convenient. We splurged for the guaranteed view and it was definitely worth it!!! The hotel is conveniently located only half a block from Times Square. Without a doubt we will be back! Especially when the rooftop bar opens :-)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angela_Eastburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Yes, the hotel is new and beautiful, the rooms are a great size, great beds, loved the rain shower, and the location is perfect being just a few steps to Times Square...However, we were most impressed with the customer service: Professional & Personal at its best ~ The Front Office Crew was amazing! A special "Thank You" to Kerry and Liam for going out of their way on many occasions to make our weekend truly memorable, you were both incredible! The Bellmen and Housekeeping staff were equally as wonderful. It was a special bachelorette weekend for my daughter, and the experience could not have been more enjoyable for our family and her bridesmaids. (Danielle & Dee Dee thank you for taking their group picture and making great recommendations, the girls loved you!) We are definately looking forward to returning soon, this is an excellent hotel.

Room Tip: We reseved a King, Two Queens and an Executive Suite, all great rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank welovecc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2013

Dear WeloveCC,

Greetings from Hyatt Times Square and thank you for being one of our very first guests and sharing such wonderful feedback! I am pleased that your entire party enjoyed their visit and please pass on our congratulations to the bride to be! Any chance of the honeymoon being in NYC? Please let us know if it is.
Thank you again for sharing your expereince with us and I will ensure that the team members mentioned will get a big thank you for providing exceptional service.
With very best regards,
Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#67 of 469 in New York City
3,249 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,141 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#114 of 469 in New York City
6,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,580 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#171 of 469 in New York City
11,231 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#46 of 469 in New York City
3,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £165 - £476 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Agoda, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing