We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Trusted Friend In The Heart Of Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #55 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 June 2014

First and foremost, I'm a Hyatt fan. My husband and I have stayed at a number of Hyatt hotels around the world, and will continue to do so. The newest offering in Manhattan from this reputable chain, is the Hyatt Times Square. Now, there are many Hyatts in and around Manhattan, and they are all good, but if you're a tourist and you want a centralized location, with easy access to Broadway and shopping, you can't do any better than this small and chic hotel.
The hotel restaurant, t45, was designed by George Wong, and conjures up images of an old timey, retro diner. The food was very good and the service excellent. There is also a rootop lounge, bar 54, but unfortunately it was so crowded, we couldn't get in. We'll just have to go back another time.
The room was a reasonable size, especially for New York City, where size is always at a premium. Sleek and modern, with minimalist decor, it suited us very nicely. The bathroom, although small, matched the bedroom in its modern decor, and always comes with standard amenities.
We've stayed numerous times at the Grand Hyatt at Grand Central Station, which is enormous by comparison, and has a lot to offer, but for sheer convenience, the Hyatt Times Square can't be topped.
One final note: We stayed at this Hyatt using our free night offered by our Hyatt credit card. It was an excellent way for us to check it out and decide whether we would consider going back. We did love it and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to minimize traffic noise.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,890)
There are newer reviews for Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,867 - 2,873 of 3,890 reviews

Reviewed 21 June 2014

I stayed at this new NYC Hyatt for two nights in June, 2014. Having been a guest at Hyatt 48 Lex and the Hyatt Grand Central previously, I looked forward to experiencing this new Hyatt property. It proved to be the best of the three.

Hyatt Times Square is an ideal choice for anyone who wants to be in the center of the Midtown tourist areas of NYC. The 45th Street location is very close to the hubbub of Times Square, and yet it offers rooms that can be surprisingly quiet. Normally a light sleeper, I stayed in an executive suite on the 10th floor. There were no big-time issues with traffic noise. If you can't sleep with any noise, try using Sleep Pillow or another noise-cancelling app on your smart phone.

The place has a boutique feel, but the rooms are not glorified shoe boxes. They're comfy and well appointed. The hotel's small check-in desk is located immediately inside the entrance, staffed by energetic Hyatt employees who quite simply can't do enough for you. Need something? Just ask. A special shout-out to Floyd, who helped me several times during the stay. There is also a small restaurant called T45 in the lobby area. The food is OK. T45 will do room service for a fee, but you're usually better off just going down to the lobby and bringing the fare up to your room. I was particularly impressed by James in T45. He was cordial, quick in service, and very welcoming at the bar. Again, the overall theme of quality customer service was evident. I didn't get to the rooftop bar, but I understand that the view up there is spectacular.

Room highlights from this executive suite:
Mini refrig (not stocked - bring your own goodies - temperature varies)
Rain shower (terrific)
Plenty of outlets
Light controls can be a little confusing, but they are clearly marked. Just keep pushing the buttons until you get used to them.
Night light setting in the bathroom (a plus)
Comfy sofa bed and ample desk in the living area
Tiny ice buckets . . . a minor annoyance
Clean, efficient room design
No pay-per-view movies are offered. Why??
Great flat screen LGs in both bedroom and living area
Separate bedroom in these suites offers privacy,
Bed is very comfortable, and closet space is ample.
(The rest of the room details are available on the hotel website.)

There are several decent restaurants within a block of the hotel. I enjoyed lunch at Connolly's, a casual Irish bar and restaurant a few doors down, and the steakhouse across the street (Bobby Van's?? Can't recall the name, but I definitely recall the tasty filet).

Bottom line:
This hotel is new and welcoming and terrific. The location is also ideal for any tourists who want to explore Midtown. Recommended for couples, solo travelers or small family tourism (up to 2 kids).

P.S. If you ever use hotel-arranged cars for private transportation to the airport, please read this section:

The rates charged by this hotel's normal outside contractor for airport transportation by town car or limo are ludicrous. I was quoted $179 for a trip to Newark airport in a town car. Having lived in the NYC area for decades, I knew the price was out of line. I immediately mentioned that to the concierge and proceeded to find my own alternative. A simple search on my smart phone yielded a $109 rate from another vendor, and that option was the better choice. I rode to Newark with a smile.

Room Tip: Talk with the helpful desk staff and tell them what you need. Be willing to wait for the best room...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank NooYawkMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014 via mobile

We booked 6 months ago for a 10 night stay - booked via Central reservations and also spoke direct to Hotel re concerns noise. Was told room requested to fulfill criteria. Arrived 16 June and hugely disappointed. Informed a request just that and I should be assured there is a double glazing on windows - maybe the staff need to experience a stay 12th floor and below. Moved within 10 minutes - away from lifts and 2 floors up. So much for being moved to a higher floor!!! After 21 hour flight kept awake until after midnight with music from Pub next door and air con either blowing cold directly on you or you were sweating before it kicked back in.
Night 4 - once again same situation woken by music at 2.20am and air con competing for noise.
With Hyatt as a preferred brand disappointed the request could not be fulfilled especially as staying 10 nights!! This was on top of no greeting when arrived at Hotel - we were exhausted with 7 year old and had to take own baggage from hire car.
I rely on Trip Advisor and was excited to stay at this Hotel. We dismissed poor reviews as few, surely this has happened to others??
On the plus side room fantastic and spacious, great location. Such a shame about noise and air con. Disappointment also stems from conversations directly with a Hotel and a request seemingly like a done deal.

Stayed: June 2014
6  Thank Tantray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Tantray,

We are sincerely very sorry for not meeting your expectations! This is truly not the impression we would like to leave with you. Please call the hotel and speak to any Manager and we will definitely listen and address your concerns. Again, we apologize for any inconvenience and we look forward to speaking to you.

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt with my wife and all I can say is I was impressed !!! Great location near Times Square and the roof top bar ... Amazing view ! And to top it off terrific staff ... As soon as we walked in we were immediately greeted by staff ... I gotta give it up for the security women who were in the lobby .. Very helpful and very welcoming ... Made me and my wife laugh and feel comfortable as if we knew them already ... I would recommend this hotel to everyone ... Thanks for making my stay a very good one !

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrRice1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear MrRice1973,

The entire team and I would like to thank you for the wonderful feedback! We truly appreciate your business and we definitely wish to provide a fun and friendly experience for every guest that walks through our doors! Thanks again and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Hyatt Times Square!

Sincerely,
Melissa & HTS Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I took a chance and bid on hotwire for a room with a 100% customer rating and 4-stars, and got this great hotel! Wow, literally a stone's throw away to the action in Times Square.

If you want to stay in Times Square then choose this hotel. It is walking distance to major attractions in the city. My wife and I stayed for 2 nights and we enjoyed every minute of it.

The staff is very accommodating and welcoming. Upon arrival, we were able to check in an hour early, and were given a complementary upgrade of the front-facing view.The rooms are spacious (NYC standards) and very clean. The bathroom is large and clean! The bathroom has heated floors! The hotel is brand new, it opened in December 2013.

It is a little pricey,but that's because we are traveling in peak summer season. I would 100% recommend this hotel and I would return.

Room Tip: Request a front-facing view room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silver97teg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dearest Zee,

Thank you very much for the great review and rating! Pleased to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations during your stay and loved our location. Thanks for your referral and we hope to welcome you back soon!

Melissa & HTS Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Convenient, clean, hip and friendly... Perfect NYC hotel for a few nights! I love the Hyatt brand, while this is not a grand or park Hyatt.. It's an above average city hotel at a decent price, nothing but praise for this hotel!

Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
Thank gigigolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Dear Gigigolf,

We love YOU! The entire team and I are humbled and pleased with your exceptional feedback. We hope to see you soon and we wish you our very best!

Melissa & HTS Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

I took a chance and bid on Hotwire for a room and got this great hotel. The location is 1/2 a block off of 7th avenue...great location. The room was ready before check in time which was great for me. Super clean. Nice waterfall shower head.

My only downside was the room service. It came from the little restaurant off the lobby. Just ok, wouldn't order again from them.

The rooftop bar is nice..pricey, but its new york city, I wouldn't expect cheaper. It was nice to watch from above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Lisa H,

Thank you for the great feedback. I am very glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations. I will make sure to inform housekeeping of a job well done. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon next time you are in NYC!

Warm Regards,

Bryan E

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#62 of 468 in New York City
3,223 reviews
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#184 of 468 in New York City
8,060 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#60 of 468 in New York City
6,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#109 of 468 in New York City
6,850 reviews
Midtown
The Michelangelo Hotel
The Michelangelo Hotel
#43 of 468 in New York City
3,578 reviews
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £177 - £465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing