We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location but terrible elevators”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great location but terrible elevators”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better location. Close to everything and an excellent rooftop view of the city. The view will cost you a few bucks at the bar but I guess it's better than going to the Top of the Rock for $29 just to ride the elevator, at least at the Hyatt we got a drink for a little less than that. It may take you a while to get to the roof or your floor in this hotel, the elevators take forever and many times you wait for 5 minutes and the elevator comes and there is no room in it to get in. The rooms are spotless, clean and shiny new. We were on the 39th floor, great view from the toilet bowl with a floor to ceiling window looking down 39 floors to the street. WOW. I would still go back even though the elevators were a nuisance. The concierge gave us 3 recommendations while we were there and they were all great. Top notch for service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,223
    969
    200
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,244
1,117
140
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not much to add in terms of being new, clean, modern etc... Agree with most other recent reviews.

Would have given 5 stars if
1. There was better service at the roof top bar. We waited long before we decided to go downstairs to the restaurant. The people there were kind enough to get us the same cocktails although not on their menu. However, cannot make up for lost views.

2. Was charged after checkout for an upgrade which never happened. While the hotel apologised only a part refund was made and I had to raise a dispute with the credit card company to get the rest back.

Suggestion:
Customer service can definitely improve, especially for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
182 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Hyatt Times Square New York offers unparalleled accommodations and magnificent service in the heart of Times Square. This new construction building offers a voguish appeal while at the same time offering a comfortable setting. The hotel is beautifully decorated with modern contemporary art in a fun whited way. The staff did an awesome job offering a high level of engaging customer service. I was fortunate to have the opportunity to have a mini suite on the 42nd floor with a mesmorzing view of the city! Bar 54 (on the 54 floor) is an absolute must visit. The bar offers a drink "lab" experience with fresh savory ingredients. The view is monumental. Make this hotel your only accommodation choice in Times Square. A big thanks to the staff of the hotel for making my stay memorable.

Room Tip: The higher the better with a south facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Travis C,

I am writing on behalf of the entire team to let you know that we truly appreciate you and all of our guests that walk through our front door! Glad to see that our product is well received and that our passion to serve is appreciated. We cant wait to welcome to back and we wish you all our best!

Safe travels -- always!

Your Hyatt Times Square Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

With so many hotels to chose from in NY on first visit, we selected Hyatt Times Square as it was new build,was in midtown & had read good reviews. Located on West 45th, a short cab ride from Penn Station. The staff immediately opened cab door on our arrival & took luggage for us. A very warm welcome at reception and although we had arrived earlier than check in time, our room was ready. We were on 43rd floor. Very good modern clean room. Everything you required. Liked to swivel chair, so you could easily swing around to take in views from room. Staff always greeted you in & out of hotel and were most helpful with tips on thingsto do or directions. Free WIfi in public areas - we used pc with concierge for return online airline boarding check in. Very close to Times Square and theatres - a few doors away from Lyceum, but just far enough to get away from hustle & bustle. We had breakfast & evening meal a couple of times in the diner. At first glance it seems expensive but portions are very large (compared to UK). Bar 54 was great - again not cheap but worth it. Great views of NY from hotel's 54th floor. The hotel is not the cheapest or most expensive, but for location, service & overall experience, I think it's a good deal. Would definately stay at Hyatt Times Square again and would have no hesitation recommending others to do the same.

Room Tip: Room was quiet on 43rd floor
See more room tips
Green Features: Provided separate recycling bin in room. Had energy saving light controls.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SALLY186258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Sally186258,

I am writing on behalf of the entire team to let you know that your positive review and 5-star rating is greatly appreciated. We celebrate reviews such as yours and it definitely inspires the team to do more!

We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Take care and best wishes from all of us!

Hyatt Times Square Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reston, Virginia USA
Level Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Everything about this hotel is sleek, modern, and clean, and we learned that it has only been open for 6 months after being newly built from the ground up. Not inexpensive rates (though not as high as some other hotels), but that's what you pay to be a half-block from Times Square. And it was worth the price to have such a nice, clean hotel so close to the Broadway shows we were there to see. It was also a relief that the restaurant was not a high-priced swanky place, but rather a reasonably priced place a family could eat at, without having to brave the crowds of Times Square to find a restaurant every night. Also good is the touch-screen check-in (because they only seemed to have a few staff at the actual desk). The valet car parking worked well - they took our car away and brought it back promptly when we wanted it at the end of our stay. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

What a great location in times square set back from the bustle. Very friendly staff from arriving to leaving always greeted with a cheery smile after long tiring day touring NYC rooms good size and modern large tv and bathroom complimentary water ,slippers and toiletries a nice touch too . Paid extra for room with view and was not disappointed looking right down into times square . Also having a drink at bar 54 a must with a table outside fantastic views must be best in new york for the price of a drink. Would definitely stay again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craigandjouk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I'm a long time Hyatt customer and because of business travel I'm able to redeem rewards at various times during the year. This year we elected to spend a few days in NYC at the Hyatt Times Square. We were delighted at the quality of the hotel, spacious room (had a suite) and the customer service. The staff was very attentive to us and helped us as needed. Highly recommended ... great location!

Room Tip: Our room was 4901...view of the Chrysler building and WTC 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,932 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,565 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing