We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great choice if you want to be in Times Square”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great choice if you want to be in Times Square”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

This new Hyatt is a great choice if you want to be in Times Square. We were seeing shows and wanted to be centrally located, plus were looking for a hotel with two queen beds and a little more spacious than your average NYC accommodation. Checked in early on my phone-still had to wait when we got to the hotel by early pm. Check in was terrific with a welcome, took our bags and we went out for the afternoon and received a call when our room was ready. Recommend upper floors and front of building if you can get them, Elevators were a little odd if your room was lower than 29th floor you had to change on 25 for the roof top bar, which was amazing! Not to be missed....view was wonderful at sunset, evening and daytime....Service was extraordinarily slow - had to go to bar to order once evening because time was tight. A/C was slightly noisy and freezing, but when we turned temp up the heater came on! LOVED the rain shower! One of the check out clerks asked me to wait on line (11am is busy) then proceeded to take someone who walked up to the counter, which was annoying since I was trying to get to the airport. Full marks for check in, not so for check out or roof top so went with average.

Room Tip: Higher floors - we were on 22 but higher would have been better. Front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,223
    969
    200
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,244
1,117
140
450
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (651)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Checking in with Yenny at the front desk was a breeze. She was welcoming, warm and friendly. Sh pointed out that we had to use the express elevators to the right as we were on the 29th floor. Elevators are fast we never had to wait to long for one. The room was surprisingly spacious for New York City, we loved the view. Contemporary decor, casual but classy, Great bed, firm but soft and comfortable. adequate lighting enough plugs. It iwas a great room for a good price, I've paid more for much less in the past...
Now the bathroom.. I love, love, love Hyatt bathrooms. This one has a large -again, very large for New York- bathroom with a walk in shower and temperature controlled floors. I love warm floors in the bathroom. I have to mention housekeeping. They do a beautiful job and our rooms was ready early and toiletries and towels always replenished.
Fantastic gym. Brand new equipment, clean, clean clean. There is a rooftop bar... meh... it was too crowded for a Monday night. The host was a bit prickly and the waitress was slammed but sweet and friendly. It was clear to me they were understaffed that night. We did not mind, we sat outside and enjoyed the great view.
Breakfast at restaurant downstairs has a bit of a pricey menu but food is great and they refill your OJ (that tastes like it's fresh squeezed). I loved the "diner inspired" decor but mostly the service. Our server Rey went out of his way for us (it was a special occasion for us) which is nice, but seriously, it is this kind of service that makes one want to always return somewhere. All in all the best place I've ever stayed at this close to Times Square. We will be back. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with Times Square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Crewtips,

Thank you so much for the positive review! I have shared your comments with our entire team and will give Yenny a special shout out for a job well done. If your travels bring you back to the Big Apple, we hope you will choose Hyatt Times Square again.

Warm regards,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

This Hotel was in a great location, rooms spacious, great view from floor 34. Expensive for breakfast. Not much information in lobby but I'm sure if you asked the staff were very helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here in early June. We booked a king room. The room was spacious (for NY) and extremely clean. Reception staff were efficient, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the doorstep of Times Square which is great for exploring. The only downside was the rooftop bar. It was expensive and the staff were rude and incompetent. We were really surprised by the contrast from everyone else in the hotel, who were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynEJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear KathrynEJA,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to New York. I will make sure to give the housekeeping and front desk team a high five for their great service. I am very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations at our bar. Please accept my deepest apologizes. Contact myself directly if you are in the city again, as I would love a second chance at showing you true hospitality at our bar.

All the best,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great girls weekend in New York! We arrived at the hotel at 7am to drop off our bags and go sight seeing and they told us our room was ready. Not only did we check in early but they also gave us a free upgrade. This was our first time in the big apple and the location was perfect. The hotel was beautiful and the service was outstanding....I will definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our vacation memorable!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen9170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jen9170,

I am very glad to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed Hyatt Times Square. Our staff really tries to go above and beyond to "WOW" every guest that walks through the door. I will make sure I share your compliment with everyone here at the hotel. Please come back and see us next time you are in the city.

Warm regards,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We couldn't have asked for a better location. Close to everything and an excellent rooftop view of the city. The view will cost you a few bucks at the bar but I guess it's better than going to the Top of the Rock for $29 just to ride the elevator, at least at the Hyatt we got a drink for a little less than that. It may take you a while to get to the roof or your floor in this hotel, the elevators take forever and many times you wait for 5 minutes and the elevator comes and there is no room in it to get in. The rooms are spotless, clean and shiny new. We were on the 39th floor, great view from the toilet bowl with a floor to ceiling window looking down 39 floors to the street. WOW. I would still go back even though the elevators were a nuisance. The concierge gave us 3 recommendations while we were there and they were all great. Top notch for service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Not much to add in terms of being new, clean, modern etc... Agree with most other recent reviews.

Would have given 5 stars if
1. There was better service at the roof top bar. We waited long before we decided to go downstairs to the restaurant. The people there were kind enough to get us the same cocktails although not on their menu. However, cannot make up for lost views.

2. Was charged after checkout for an upgrade which never happened. While the hotel apologised only a part refund was made and I had to raise a dispute with the credit card company to get the rest back.

Suggestion:
Customer service can definitely improve, especially for a hotel of this standard.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank melblore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#51 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,136 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#66 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,934 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#105 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,563 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#80 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing