We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel in a good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in a good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The hotel is located right on the corner of Times Square. It's very well designed and the staff is very friendly and helpful to. The rooms are reasonably sized, especially compared to the average room size in other hotels in New York City.

The room was very clean, including the carpet on the floor. The bathroom had a rain shower and was spacious. The only downside is the airco which made some annoying noise while it started. During the night it stops and starts several times so sometimes the noise woke us up. Although you're almost on Times Square, we hardly noticed by the noise from outside.

On the 54th floor there is a bar / lounge with a terrace with a great view over Times Square. Unfortunately their is only free wifi in the lobby and the bar / lounge and not in the room.

I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,125
    940
    192
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,203
1,065
132
431
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (630)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

As a native of New York City (born and lived in the Bronx for a few years) and having been brought up on Long Island, there has always been something strange but exciting about staying overnight in Manhattan. Usually, the end of a day in Manhattan meant the IND followed by the LIRR.

Most of my stays in Manhattan over the last 30 years have been business only with my expenses paid by my employer and generally a typical, mediocre hotel room someplace in midtown Manhattan. However, this trip was strictly pleasure, five days in Manhattan with a number of shows and museums (and some kosher deli!) with my wife.

The Hyatt Times Square was perfect for our needs. Can you say “location, location, location?” Excellent location on West 45th off of Times Square, but not actually on Times Square. Easy access to subways, theatres, restaurants, ...

The Hyatt Times Square is a relatively new hotel with modern furnishings throughout. Our room on the 33rd floor was reasonably large and generally well furnished. The bathroom had an excellent large stall shower (I hate hotel bathtubs for taking showers - slippery and dangerous - and most guests take showers and not baths) and a shaving mirror (very helpful for men) and was both well lit and ventilated.

Bed was very comfortable, room was very quiet (despite being so close to Times Square), and we both slept very well. Room ventilation worked very well (both heat and air conditioning) and relatively quietly.

All facilities were exceptionally clean and well-maintained. Housekeeping does an excellent job of making up each room each day as if we were new guests.

All staff we interacted with, including housekeeping staff, were very friendly and helpful (and I might add, English speaking which isn't the case in many hotels in the United States these days).

This is not an inexpensive hotel. (If you are on a very strict budget, look elsewhere!) On the other hand, it was no more expensive than the other brand name hotels in Midtown Manhattan and the facilities were at least as good if not better than any other non-luxury hotel that I've stayed at in the area.

Negatives? Very few, but for the record ...

The room desk should have a comfortable desk chair, especially since many of the hotel's guests are either there on business or doing some business while there on pleasure (my case).

The hotel offers complimentary internet access. It is reliable, but each connection is limited to 5mb/sec bandwidth, much slower than my cellphone's 4G/LTE service! Although this limitation is probably in place to assure that all guests can fairly share in the hotel's overall bandwidth, it is somewhat restrictive for business use.

Finally, the hotel has a restaurant off the lobby at which we had breakfast one day. Food was OK but very much overpriced for what you got.

We would definitely return to this hotel if and when our travel finds us in Midtown Manhattan again!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dov I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Greetings Dov I,

Thank you for the awesome feedback. I am very pleased to hear we were able to exceed your expectations while here at our hotel. Our housekeeping team works very hard to ensure all areas of the hotel stay clean and crisp. I will make sure I share your remarks and let them know how amazing they are doing. Thank you again for your kind remarks and we hope to see you soon.

Warm regards,

Bryan E.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

This new Hyatt is a great choice if you want to be in Times Square. We were seeing shows and wanted to be centrally located, plus were looking for a hotel with two queen beds and a little more spacious than your average NYC accommodation. Checked in early on my phone-still had to wait when we got to the hotel by early pm. Check in was terrific with a welcome, took our bags and we went out for the afternoon and received a call when our room was ready. Recommend upper floors and front of building if you can get them, Elevators were a little odd if your room was lower than 29th floor you had to change on 25 for the roof top bar, which was amazing! Not to be missed....view was wonderful at sunset, evening and daytime....Service was extraordinarily slow - had to go to bar to order once evening because time was tight. A/C was slightly noisy and freezing, but when we turned temp up the heater came on! LOVED the rain shower! One of the check out clerks asked me to wait on line (11am is busy) then proceeded to take someone who walked up to the counter, which was annoying since I was trying to get to the airport. Full marks for check in, not so for check out or roof top so went with average.

Room Tip: Higher floors - we were on 22 but higher would have been better. Front facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LMK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Checking in with Yenny at the front desk was a breeze. She was welcoming, warm and friendly. Sh pointed out that we had to use the express elevators to the right as we were on the 29th floor. Elevators are fast we never had to wait to long for one. The room was surprisingly spacious for New York City, we loved the view. Contemporary decor, casual but classy, Great bed, firm but soft and comfortable. adequate lighting enough plugs. It iwas a great room for a good price, I've paid more for much less in the past...
Now the bathroom.. I love, love, love Hyatt bathrooms. This one has a large -again, very large for New York- bathroom with a walk in shower and temperature controlled floors. I love warm floors in the bathroom. I have to mention housekeeping. They do a beautiful job and our rooms was ready early and toiletries and towels always replenished.
Fantastic gym. Brand new equipment, clean, clean clean. There is a rooftop bar... meh... it was too crowded for a Monday night. The host was a bit prickly and the waitress was slammed but sweet and friendly. It was clear to me they were understaffed that night. We did not mind, we sat outside and enjoyed the great view.
Breakfast at restaurant downstairs has a bit of a pricey menu but food is great and they refill your OJ (that tastes like it's fresh squeezed). I loved the "diner inspired" decor but mostly the service. Our server Rey went out of his way for us (it was a special occasion for us) which is nice, but seriously, it is this kind of service that makes one want to always return somewhere. All in all the best place I've ever stayed at this close to Times Square. We will be back. Strongly recommended.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with Times Square view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crewtips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Crewtips,

Thank you so much for the positive review! I have shared your comments with our entire team and will give Yenny a special shout out for a job well done. If your travels bring you back to the Big Apple, we hope you will choose Hyatt Times Square again.

Warm regards,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This Hotel was in a great location, rooms spacious, great view from floor 34. Expensive for breakfast. Not much information in lobby but I'm sure if you asked the staff were very helpful. Would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire, UK
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed here in early June. We booked a king room. The room was spacious (for NY) and extremely clean. Reception staff were efficient, very friendly and helpful. The hotel is on the doorstep of Times Square which is great for exploring. The only downside was the rooftop bar. It was expensive and the staff were rude and incompetent. We were really surprised by the contrast from everyone else in the hotel, who were professional and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathrynEJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear KathrynEJA,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to New York. I will make sure to give the housekeeping and front desk team a high five for their great service. I am very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations at our bar. Please accept my deepest apologizes. Contact myself directly if you are in the city again, as I would love a second chance at showing you true hospitality at our bar.

All the best,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We had a great girls weekend in New York! We arrived at the hotel at 7am to drop off our bags and go sight seeing and they told us our room was ready. Not only did we check in early but they also gave us a free upgrade. This was our first time in the big apple and the location was perfect. The hotel was beautiful and the service was outstanding....I will definitely stay here again. Thanks to all the wonderful staff for making our vacation memorable!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen9170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryan E, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Jen9170,

I am very glad to hear how much you and your friends enjoyed Hyatt Times Square. Our staff really tries to go above and beyond to "WOW" every guest that walks through the door. I will make sure I share your compliment with everyone here at the hotel. Please come back and see us next time you are in the city.

Warm regards,

Bryan E
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#49 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,112 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#63 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,901 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#104 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,457 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#77 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing