We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected Charming Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
130 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Unexpected Charming Rooms”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My daughter and I decided to choose the Hyatt due to its great location in Times Square. We knew we could just walk out the door and be close to the action. What I did not expect was to walk down the hallway to our room and see such fun colors along the way. Most hotels use browns and other blah colors, but this one had fun, warm, colorful designs. When we opened up our room, both of us commented on how cute the decor was. Not only was it modern, but the use of fun colors really brightened up the room. The decorations on the walls were so much fun to look at. The platform beds were huge and comfy with modern bedding. There was a mini-frig built into the desk and a safe. I would like to include photos of the charming room, but my computer is not allowing me to access my photos for this review. Must be a glitch with Trip Advisor?

The bathroom was utra-modern with gorgeous flooring in black and off-white colors. The entire walls were gorgeous too and there was a rain-head on the shower.

Although we were not in the room much, it is NYC after all, we really enjoyed this room. That night we went up to the rooftop bar and saw the spectacular skyline with all the bright lights. SO pretty! The next morning, we ate at the coffee shop. We really enjoyed our eggs and bacon. There was a healthy omelette option which I hope to try the next visit to this hotel.

The air conditioning was amazing. Most hotels, you can't really monitor the temperature, but this worked beautifully! I really appreciated it in the August heat! The staff were all very friends, especially the guys helping us hail a cab! Thank you!

Room Tip: We had room 906. I had requested a "quiet room." It seemed very quiet for the most part...
See more room tips
Green Features: I liked the fact that you can turn all the lights on or off at once or just certain ones. The night light aspect of these light switch panels were annoying in the dark, though. We had to cover them up with towels to block the light.
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna224488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,461 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,205
    967
    197
    53
    39
See reviews for
1,237
1,106
140
446
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (648)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Rating would be 3-1/2, if I could give the 1/2 star. Spent a week at the Hyatt Times Square in July, 2014 for both personal and business pleasure. Would have given it a 4 had it been more conducive to business travel and better elevator service. There is no business center but rather two computers set up in the hall behind the check-in desk/concierge - no privacy. Typically, this would be fine as I travel with a laptop, but in this instance I had several business docs to print out. The elevators are slow anyway. But, on two separate occasions during my stay, one of the elevators was blocked off for private access to the bar on the top floor. No one was waiting to get up to the bar. However, guests were waiting for the other elevators to get to their rooms. I thought it a real discourtesy to inconvenience hotel guests. Moving on.....the location is perfect being practically on Times Square, and near the theater district. My view was looking down on Times Square. The hotel/room is modern and very clean. Maid service excellent. Cafe downstairs and lounge on top floor - both good for either personal or business. The rate was really great for NYC and I would consider again due to the convenient locaiton, cleanliness, and modern room setup.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of Times Square
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UnthinkBren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan F, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
UnThinkBren,

Thank you very much for staying and sharing your thoughts. I am pleased to hear that the room was comfortable and that housekeeping did a good job.

With regard to the elevators; we are actually working tirelessly with the manufacturer to ensure optimal speed and performance at all times so guests don’t experience long waits. Secondly I think it has only been a handful of times this year that we have taken one elevator for a private event, but I hear how inconvenient it is and we will be more cognizant of how other guests are impacted if we need to do it again in the future.

Also, about the business services, sadly we don’t have much (any) room to grow our business centre but one thing I am sure of is that the managers and associates alike, at the front desk, would always be very happy to receive a document via email and print and deliver it to securely so you don’t feel like you are printing in front of the world. One thing that gives me particular pride is our focus on being flexible to meet people's needs despite some space constraints.

Thanks again for your time and best regards,
Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Hyatt times square has a lot going for it – No its not the location- In fact that is a bit of a dampener being so close to times square and hence effected by all the nonsense that goes around the place.
The hotel really upholds hyatt service. The service staff from the check in to check out, concierge and all that goes within was top class. Well for me that makes a huge difference.
The hotel neat and chic. Yes it has a really busy/ claustrophobic lobby mainly due to the shortage of space. The rooms though really tiny are neatly appointed well lit and bright. Lots of plug points to charge your phones/ cameras and tablets. The bed was comfortable, the toiletries decent and most so the room was brightly lit and decorated with really happy colours. We wanted the room early so we settled for a smaller room which was available before the actual check in time, it was a squeeze but was fine for us. The rooms like the ones in the pictures so you actually get what you pay for
Only thing that do not work for this property is the long way for the elevators. Wish they did something about that.
In a nut shell I am so happy I stayed here. I am very cost conscious – especially in NYC because one is hardly in the room in this city… but staying here ensured that I walked almost everywhere which saved expensive cab fare… Also I moved to this hotel after a previous month stay at the dreary Hotel Penn and it was such a delightful experience.
Recommendations, revisits – Yes Definitely. Just hoping they do not become too expensive for my merge purse.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony and in the higher wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddhakkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

When I reserved my 2 rooms a requested an early checkin for either one (the suite or attached room), reached the front desk at 09:00 AM and checked in, the person advised that I would be unable to get attached rooms because it was not available, I said no problem because I was alone but my wife, 2 kids and their grandmother was coming in on a later flight, so I requested the same floor. At that point she had assigned my rooms (I've just came off a long flight and did not sleep since about 30 hours), and said it would be a while that the rooms were being serviced from the last set of guest that left, which was very understandable, went and had breakfast at their restaurant went back about 11:00am (2 hrs later) and the rooms were not ready, went to time square for a walk and came back at 02:00 PM the gentleman I asked at the front desk was very rude and obnoxious he said why are you bothering me checking time was at 04:00PM come back then, that he has a line and I was told so.
I asked to speak to a manager, after a lot of complaining and whispering to himself he got the manager about 10 mins later, the manager obviously tried to cover the other front desk clerk by agreeing with him but I was very persistent because I was tired and my family was going to arrive shortly. The manager said he will go up himself to check, came back 2mins later and said the rooms were ready and housekeeping did not have it in the system.
For A suit average $500 and reg room $350. It was definitely not worth it. the carpet was very "old" or VERY VERY DIRTY, rooms are small.
The only good thing is that the location is perfect if want to get in on the Broadway action.
On One night Housekeeping did not service the room !!
The manager keep insisting that the Privacy sign was on but it was not, because my wife was shopping and all day I was bringing bags back to the bell man to send to my room, and the bags were all there when we got back late in the night.
THINK TWICE !!! I WOULD NOT STAY THERE AGAIN, AND WOULD START TO RECONSIDER HYATT ALSO.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobRattan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryan R, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Thank you so much for your honest and sincere feedback. As a new hotel it is extremely important for us to hear your feedback so we can make any necessary adjustments. I did receive your feedback also through our Hyatt Medalia Survey, so please be sure to check your inbox for my response.

Again it disappoints me greatly that you left our hotel feeling so dissatisfied. We do try our absolute best to accommodate all early arrival requests but due to regular sell out days this request often becomes difficult to fulfill.

I do hope that we will see you back at our hotel in the future. Should you decide to make another booking, I ask you to please contact me directly so that I can personally look after your reservation. Just please ask for Ryan, as I am one of the Assistant Front Office Managers.

I wish you a wonderful weekend ahead and look forward to speaking with you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Martin
Level Contributor
126 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

It was incredible... We spent a beautiful time in this hotel.
3 nights.
We were at 51th floor with an amazing view on Time Square.
The service is impeccable, the rooms are spacious and very cleans.
Wifi in the rooms (paying) and the lobby.
Try the B54 lounge bar, it's magic, with its incredible scenic view.
Good location in Time Square Heart.
We recommend strongly this accommodation !

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cthsxm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melissa O, Manager at Hyatt Centric Times Square New York, responded to this review, 14 August 2014
I am responding on behalf of the entire team to let you know that we appreciate your wonderful feedback and recommendation! We are very pleased to see that you enjoyed the view from our location and loved our rooms and hospitality. Hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you and your friends back to NYC!

Sincerely,
Your Hyatt Times Square Family
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland Line, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel has only been in its location less than a year. Clean, great location and good service. Rooms are bigger than many NY hotels. Somewhat Small lobby area. Roof of hotel is a nice lounge. Many places to eat and see in walking distance. Shower head on ceiling.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank kld8765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newyork
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Previews reviews are accurate, but no one mentioned any elevator incident. Well, there's nothing that dampens an otherwise perfect evening (on our last day) than getting stuck in an elevator in a high-rise building. The power went off somewhere on the 18th floor. Only the light was on or I would have totally freaked out! After we sounded the alarm (button), a voice came through to assist. Power came back after about 15 minutes.

There was not a single word from management after that incident. I mentioned it on checking out but the front desk nonchalantly said "Oh, our newspaper man got stuck earlier too!" Like it happens all the time.The scary thing is that there are only 2 elevators assigned to each floor. That's a 50% chance of getting stuck! Getting stuck in an elevator in New York City is not a good thing. I wouldn't mind so much in other places every once in a while.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Kimpton Muse Hotel
Kimpton Muse Hotel
#53 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,131 reviews
Midtown
Sanctuary Hotel New York
Sanctuary Hotel New York
#64 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,928 reviews
Midtown
The Pearl Hotel
The Pearl Hotel
#17 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Chatwal, A Luxury Collection Hotel, New York
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#106 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,543 reviews
Midtown
Room Mate Grace
Room Mate Grace
#85 of 467 in New York City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Property: Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 467 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing