We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hyatt Centric Times Square New York
Ranked #50 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 3 September 2014

The location is excellent, it is an incredibly busy square, but the hotel is in a quiet street and if you have a room at the back you hardly hear any noise. The rooms are a generous size and very clean.The staff friendly and attentive. Breakfast very disappointing...but why stick to the hotel when there are so many other nice places nearby?

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lafj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,062)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,899 - 2,905 of 4,064 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

The drive from the airport is daunting and our anxiety was high as we drove up to the Hyatt. All of the doormen, (maybe 3 or 4) came up to greet us. They were all so friendly, especially Chester who really stood out from the rest. Then the check-in employees were also very helpful and cheerful. The staff at Hyatt had such a great energy, the bartender James even made fresh lemonade for us when it was not on the menu and my mother asked for it. The lobby was modern and clean and they let us check in early. The room was also modern and clean, with plenty of space. Our room was very quiet, and the umbrellas were a nice touch since it was pouring rain that evening. The bonus was that our play was on the same block, as well as a great deli. I highly recommend Hyatt Times Square. One negative, the young female concierge was not able to recommend a restaurant, but simply said there were “thousands to choose from.” The next night the gentleman wrote down 3 choices and wrote them down on a map. He was quite helpful, sorry I cannot remember his name.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Austingrl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The hotel is brand new! The rooms are very spacious for NYC standards. Everything was clean and well equipped. The location is perfect. It's located on a quiet side street with excellent views of Times Square. It's easy to get in and out of. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyandScott2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were really looking forward to staying here as there have been so many positive reviews. Let me start by saying we did arrive early for check in (around 1:30), so were not surprised that our room was not available. They asked for our cell number and said they would put a rush on it and call us soon. By 4:00, which is check-in time, we were told they were very backed up and our room would be ready "shortly". By 5:30, we still didn't have our room which was unacceptable. We had plans that evening and needed to get ready. To add insult to injury, the fire alarms went off and the hotel was evacuated. It turned out, there was a small fire two buildings down. Needless to say, we finally got our room, but it wasn't a great way to start the weekend.
What turned this all around for us was Noah, the manager on duty. He made things right on several levels, and even called us later to make sure everything was ok. We had a terrace room which was absolutely fantastic - and very large by New York city standards. Because the hotel is new, the rooms are very updated and it didn't hurt to have a balcony with a view of Times Square! Also, the rooms were surprisingly quiet-we had no issues with noise whatsoever. We also never had any problems getting an elevator. All in all, we had an excellent weekend and would certainly return here. Thanks again, Noah!

Room Tip: The terrace rooms are very spacious and it's great to have a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

The staff, from valets to doormen to desk clerks to housekeepers, were all professional, pleasant, and went out of their way for everything you need. The entire lobby, elevators, and rooms were spotless in a city that is filthy, which is a pretty impressive feat. I had a single bed room on floor 40, and it was amazing! Clean, comfortable, well lit and modern, and featured floor to ceiling windows on the entire outside wall. Street noise was very distant, the windows were very heavy. This hotel hands down had the best bathroom I've ever seen in a hotel - the bathtub was in the shower, and the shower area was so big it was the size of the bathroom itself in other hotels. The tv is on the wall but pulls out so you can angle it towards your bed. The bed was clean and comfortable, AC worked great, plenty of space for clothes and other luggage. Conveniently located on a lesser street from Times Square, which cuts way back on traffic and crowds and makes it easy to access the hotel. There is a pharmacy around the corner for any quick needs, lots of restaurants on the surrounding block. The restaurant in the hotel itself has good breakfast but the rest of it's meals leave a lot to be desired - Grubhub was my saving grace late at night when I didn't feel like going back out. I'd stay here again, and my stay here may have switched me from Hilton to Hyatt!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank svaught06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

It is amazing to be a just few feet away from the hustle and bustle of Times Square and find peace and quiet in a hotel room. There were minor issues with the fixtures and cabinetry. We opened the cabinet door to the safe and it fell off. The magnifying mirror also got unscrewed while I was adjusting it. These happened within 30 minutes from the time we entered the room. Maintenance came and fixed it while we were out watching a show. The room overall is nice and clean with a brand new feel. There is also a deli 2 or 3 doors away that is open 27/7, a great place to grab those little sweet treats to nibble with those ridiculously expensive beverages in the theaters.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dtravelingkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

I stayed at the Hyatt for 2 nights in May with a girlfriend. We were in NY to attend a Broadway play, and this hotel was perfect for that. We were able to walk from the hotel to the theater and back. The hotel was close to some great eateries, both sit down and fast food, as well as great shopping. We didn't need a car because everything was in close proximity. There was even a rooftop club/bar on the top floor which was really cool to go up to and look out over the city. The staff was very friendly. We didn't take advantage of the hotel amenities but if I was in Times Square again I would come back again. It was a nice, clean, accessible hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ohgyrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel New York City - Times Square
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hote...
#185 of 469 in New York City
8,222 reviews
Midtown
Hilton Times Square
Hilton Times Square
#112 of 469 in New York City
6,979 reviews
Midtown
New York Marriott Marquis
New York Marriott Marquis
#173 of 469 in New York City
11,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
Hilton Garden Inn Times Square
#136 of 469 in New York City
7,334 reviews
Midtown
Sofitel New York
Sofitel New York
#64 of 469 in New York City
6,620 reviews
Midtown
The Time New York
The Time New York
#86 of 469 in New York City
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Centric Times Square New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Centric Times Square New York

Address: 135 West 45th Street, New York City, NY 10036-4004 (Formerly Hyatt Times Square New York)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Times Square / Theater District , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 469 Hotels in New York City
Price Range: £163 - £474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hyatt Centric Times Square New York 4.5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Live the ultimate New York lifestyle at the sophisticated Hyatt Centric Times Square New York. You’ll feel like a privileged Manhattanite from the moment you walk into your city pied-a-terre, just steps from the business district and famous attractions such as Broadway theaters, Radio City Music Hall, Rockefeller Center and the New York Public Library. Rest assured that yours will be no typical Manhattan hotel room either. Your chic apartment-style retreat, relaxing while reflecting the thrill of city life, will greet you with magnificent floor-to-ceiling windows and eye-catching original, city-themed art, including a colorful and comfy custom-designed pop-art lounge chair. You won’t be walking down any endless hallways in this 54-story New York Hotel. With only 11 spacious rooms per floor, the hotel feels intimate and residential. For those times when you’re hungry but prefer to dine at home, you can “eat in” at the hotel’s stylish George Wong-designed restaurant, or order take-out food in person, by phone or by a special app for pick up or room delivery. And when you’re ready to socialize, impress business associates or simply relax with friends, the hotel’s inviting NYC roof-top restaurant and lounge is sure to delight you with its river-to-river views, relaxed buzz and cozy indoor and outdoor spaces. You’ll also enjoy the hotel’s full floor state-of-the-art fitness center. And whether you’re de-stressing from a business meeting or prepping for a night on the town, the indulgent 4,200 square foot Timeless - Marilyn Monroe™ Spa - the only hotel spa in the area - will make you look and feel fabulous. Best of all, our in-the-know hosts will make you an instant insider to all that the Big Apple has to offer, from directions to your next meeting to the best shows, both on and off Broadway. Want to impress your client or experience the hottest new club or restaurant? It’s as easy as asking your concierge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Centric Times Square New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing