We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Back The Chili”
Review of P.J. Clarke's

P.J. Clarke's
Reserve with OpenTable
P.J. Clarke's is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #556 of 16,013 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Midtown East
Reviewed 26 September 2014

I've been having a cheeseburger and a cup of chili since 1959 and have indoctrinated our children and grandchildren......they know to look for the slice of raw onion under the bottom part of the bun.

We're all P.J. Clarke's fans.....it's a religion.

Now there's no more chili. It's a long and foolish tale......ridiculous. We will keep coming anyway. P.J. Clarke's belongs to its customers.

One day, there will be a smart COO who will look deep into the corporate history and say "AHA, we need to go back to basics and return PJ Clarke's to its roots........bring back the chili".

To their credit, they deliver and packaging is terrific. It takes an hour from order to arrival and it's worth it. Plan ahead.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank doug100worth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

475 - 479 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here on a weekday night. Bar and restaurant were both busy, but we got a table pretty quick.
The menu is full of traditional American fare. The burger I had was excellent.
It was a little too noisy and the service was a bit slow (perhaps because the irish president was in! ) but overall a good place for some comfort food.

Thank Becquerel235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2014

My husband, son and I ate at the PJ Clarke's on Third Avenue a couple of times. We liked the lively atmosphere and friendly, efficient staff. The burgers and crab cakes in particular were excellent. If you are looking for huge portions then this is not the place to eat. If you want a friendly vibe, efficient service and good quality food then try this restaurant out.

Date of visit: September 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Fiona222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2014 via mobile

Visited with friends for dinner.
Busy restaurant with a great atmosphere.
Food was excellent.
Service first class.
All enjoyed with a very nice cloudy bay.

Thank Cew73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2014

Portions were small. Food was overpriced. Staff was mildly friendly but very robotic. Neat place with a lot of history that felt very touristy.You would be better served elsewhere. I won't be returning!

Date of visit: August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Rob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed P.J. Clarke's also viewed

 

Been to P.J. Clarke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing