We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It!”
Review of Mary's Fish Camp

Mary's Fish Camp
Ranked #1,361 of 13,823 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$19 - US$27
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours
Neighbourhood: West Village
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Loved It!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Loved this place. We had a fantastic and memorable lunch. We started with a bottle of Spanish cava and a large plate of oysters. We then had the fried green tomatoes and the watermelon salad - fantastic combination. We then shared the lobster roll and shoestring fries. All good. To top things off the strawberry shortcake and the hot fudge peanut brittle sundae were amazing. Thanks for making everything fresh and delicious. Nothing like homemade whipped cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TMM888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    87
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“the lobster rolls rock”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

While I enjoy reading the menu and acknowledge the vast array of delicious seafood options available here, I inevitably order the lobster roll. They are crazy delicious. Sitting at the wooden tables munching on the calamari appetizer, you can almost pretend you are at the beach. Mary's does a pretty good job of creating the atmosphere of a sea food shack in the heart of the West Village.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JADSNYC2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stumbled on a gem; would look out for next time”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I had been walking for miles and was focused on seafood at the base of High Line when i literally stumbled on Mary's Fish Camp. I was desperate and still had some walking to go so I stopped by here instead. You know, sometimes you can be lucky and this was one of them. It was stiflingly hot outside so the kitchen, which seemed to occupy at least half of the floor area, must have been like a furnace. Yet what was immediately obvious was that none of this was affecting the energy and enthusiasm of the staff. There was Mary at the front of the kitchen prepping and finishing, chef, whose passion for this work was evident in his attention to detail (the mountain of fries carefully arranged in stockpile form is worth ordering just for the visuals). I'm sure the freshly made lemon is great normally but on a really hot day it was (both were) essential and sharp to the palate. Everything on the menu seemed worthy of a look as I observed a steady stream of meals passing by. My octopus skewer was delicate, Others seemed self satisfied with their whole fish or their fillets. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12davidjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Simply the best lobster rolls”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I always promise myself I will try something different when I visit Marys as the fish always looks amazing but then I get there..... And simply have to order the lobster rolls. They are simply delicious and no trip to NY is complete without a visit or 2

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jakkster67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The lobster rolls are outstanding”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Whenever you crave for fish, Mary's Fish Camp is the place to go.
When I walked into the restaurant I was greated by the very friendly staff. Unfortunately I had to wait a little to be seated (this place is ALWAYS busy) but it was well worth the wait. I started with a watercress salad which was very fresh and coated with a delicious, slightly garlicky dressing. Then I had one of their signature dishes, the lobster roll. Very fresh with a lot of lobster in it, accompanied by some very thin but crispy fries. Just a perfect combination.

Overall, highly recommendable!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 333CD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary's Fish Camp also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mary's Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing