We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Before a Show”
Review of Ruby Foo's - CLOSED

Ruby Foo's
Price range: US$31 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Home Style
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 49th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and A, C & E trains to 50th Street. Bus: M104
Description: Ruby Foo’s brings the bold flavors of Beijing, Bangkok and Tokyo to Times Square in a big-box setting that is as boisterous as it Broadway neighborhood. Described as “imaginative” by New York Magazine, the 300 seat space and approachable Pan-Asian cuisine is perfect for dinner pre or post show, lunch with clients, brunch with kids, private parties, and any other occasion imaginable. People watch at a Broadway-facing table over pad thai, sample some of the best rolls in the neighborhood at the 20-seat sushi bar, share assorted dim sum at a banquet and finish with a Dessert Bento Box. Tight on time? Take freshly-baked theater treats like Chocolate Chip Cookies and Caramel Popcorn to go. Or, get sushi and dim sum delivered to your door!
Saltford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Perfect Before a Show”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loving Chines food and needing something quick and tasty before a show this place is very convenient in Times Square.
Stated with Edamame beans which were OK but could have been hotter. Then we shared a dim sum sampler, very tasty and well recommended, followed by Peking duck and sticky rice also extremely tasty, then a shared banana parfait wonderful. All washed down with a bottle of Vouvray. All in all good value for money

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

854 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    341
    164
    54
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
White Plains, New York, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food and ambiance.”
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The food was delicious and the waitstaff was very friendly. The restaurant was very close to the theaters - it was right on broadway. The ambiance was really nice too! The food was a bit pricey and the lighting was a little too dark but if you're going for a special occasion like we were, this was the place to go.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DenMai4485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's in Times Square!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulf Shores, AL
Level Contributor
88 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Don't Be Misled by the "Come On" Exterior”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place's location and exterior just scream 'tourist rip-off' to the bypasser, especially given its location. But the food is amazingly varied, creative and quality. Prices were reasonable (not what you'd expect being it is right at Times Square, right off the theater district.) Went there after Book of Mormon and had the lettuce wraps (you get a whole half of a head of iceberg, so you can make as many as you want, or as heartily wrapped as you want) among other things. All well seasoned, good quantity, fresh presentation. great waitstaff. What a pleasant surprise.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RealDeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your great feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“cold thai food”
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Typical tourist ripoff. Small cold portions, rushed service, unfriendly waiter. Do not waste your time or money

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank lookingforgreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ingleside, texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good appetizers”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

The sushi rolls were great. The drinks were fun. We had a nice time. Waitstaff were very nice. We also had lettuce wraps. Thesewere good as well as the pork dumplings.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank phall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you join us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Foo's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing