We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ruby Foo's”
Review of Ruby Foo's - CLOSED

Ruby Foo's
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Home Style
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Cross street: 49th Street
Transit: N, R & W trains to 49th Street, 1 train to 50th Street, and A, C & E trains to 50th Street. Bus: M104
Description: Ruby Foo’s brings the bold flavors of Beijing, Bangkok and Tokyo to Times Square in a big-box setting that is as boisterous as it Broadway neighborhood. Described as “imaginative” by New York Magazine, the 300 seat space and approachable Pan-Asian cuisine is perfect for dinner pre or post show, lunch with clients, brunch with kids, private parties, and any other occasion imaginable. People watch at a Broadway-facing table over pad thai, sample some of the best rolls in the neighborhood at the 20-seat sushi bar, share assorted dim sum at a banquet and finish with a Dessert Bento Box. Tight on time? Take freshly-baked theater treats like Chocolate Chip Cookies and Caramel Popcorn to go. Or, get sushi and dim sum delivered to your door!
Reviewed 4 June 2014

This place was ok, their gluten free menu consisted of mostly spicey dishes.. service was really good, but not somewhere I would return to eat

Thank paulandcolleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (853)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

269 - 273 of 853 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

I've been there before and it used to be great. It looks a bit tired and the food, especially the dim sum was really quite disappointing..... The sushi was better but with so many excellent eateries in New York, I won't be wasting a mealtime there next time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Samantha E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Loving Chines food and needing something quick and tasty before a show this place is very convenient in Times Square.
Stated with Edamame beans which were OK but could have been hotter. Then we shared a dim sum sampler, very tasty and well recommended, followed by Peking duck and sticky rice also extremely tasty, then a shared banana parfait wonderful. All washed down with a bottle of Vouvray. All in all good value for money

Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your positive feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

The food was delicious and the waitstaff was very friendly. The restaurant was very close to the theaters - it was right on broadway. The ambiance was really nice too! The food was a bit pricey and the lighting was a little too dark but if you're going for a special occasion like we were, this was the place to go.

Thank DenMai4485
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's in Times Square!

We are delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us and we appreciate your feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This place's location and exterior just scream 'tourist rip-off' to the bypasser, especially given its location. But the food is amazingly varied, creative and quality. Prices were reasonable (not what you'd expect being it is right at Times Square, right off the theater district.) Went there after Book of Mormon and had the lettuce wraps (you get a whole half of a head of iceberg, so you can make as many as you want, or as heartily wrapped as you want) among other things. All well seasoned, good quantity, fresh presentation. great waitstaff. What a pleasant surprise.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RealDeal1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRGuestHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Ruby Foo's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time on Trip Advisor to let us know about your visit to Ruby Foo's!

It truly means a lot to us to hear from you and we appreciate your great feedback.

We hope to have you dine with us again and wish you all the best!

Gabby Barikian
Community Relations Specialist
BR Guest Hospitality

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ruby Foo's also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing