We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great casual setting with top quality healthy menu”
Review of Mangia

Mangia
Ranked #1,639 of 13,740 Restaurants in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$35
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighbourhood: Midtown
Description: A family business opened in 1981, Mangia transformed the New York lunch scene by being one of the first to focus on fresh, artisanal ingredients and a menu of rustic and classic Italian fare. Today we continue with the same passion for food by preserving our beloved Mangia classics as well as continuing to create new seasonal recipes. Most of all, we take pride that whether you're joining us for a quick lunch or catering a large event, our food is always crafted in house and baked fresh daily.
Belmar N.J.
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Great casual setting with top quality healthy menu”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stopped here for lunch and pleasantly surprised to find huge veggie/salad bar. They also have a fresh juice station, hot grill, fresh soups, and a sit down restaraunt upstairs. I sat at the bar downstairs and used their free WiFi. The salad bar was excellent. Service was impeccable. For a quick casual meal, this place should be on your list.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jpendejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    73
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Haven in the city”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

This place was found on our first day as it was very close to our hotel and we used it almost every day for tea and cake and free WiFi to plan our next days activities.

The home baking in this place is fantastic, I tried pecan pie, banana cream pie, pumpkin pie and macarons to name a few and they were all spectacular, they also do some of the best hot chocolate in the city!! My sister mentioned that they even managed to get tea right as she was struggling with this in some eateries.

Quite a rustic feel but always busy and the staff were very good. Most days we managed to get the same table mid afternoon but lunchtimes etc were always very busy.

It was open quite late int he evenings also that meant if we were late back from sightseeing we could still plan the next day without any real problems.

Great place for reasonably priced, good food in the heart of the city.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mortqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great, high quality lunch cuisine”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I work midtown NYC on the east side and Mangia is one of my favorite spots for lunch. The Ahi Tuna is delightful and comes with 2 sides, for about $15. Has a nice salad bar and cold food bar too. Crowded at noon, has seating upstairs.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rubyrockNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Pasta and Sandwiches are mediocre.”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have ordered pasta with mushrooms as well as a chicken sandwich. They were decent, but I have had better pasta. I also ordered creme brulee for dessert. It was completely burnt and I couldn't eat it. I would not recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank newyorknatives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We went to Mangia twice for breakfast. Both the French toast sandwich and the straight French toast with some fruit were excellent.
We saw 2 different sets of staff and both were friendly and helpful adding to the experience.
Would be back if I was staying in the same area again

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeuchterLoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mangia also viewed

New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Mangia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing