We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never miss a pre-dawn run”

Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir
Book In Advance
More Info
US$99.00*
and up
Pedicab Guided Tour of Central Park
Ranked #176 of 1,089 things to do in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Never miss a pre-dawn run”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

I have been running on this 1.58 mile path for over 15 years and I never stop loving it. Even when it rains and floods the path - I am NOT a sugar mouse but wow those puddles are deep. Even when I have to use the bathroom and after I panic, I find decent restrooms at the tennis courts (cross the bridge). Watching the sun rise on this run is the ONLY way to start a NYC day.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank predawnrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    44
    7
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dangerous”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Be careful. There are very dangerous people lurking around here. They will pickpocket you and the runners have right of way and will run right into you if you are not paying attention. Best to avoid.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fab all year round!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I walk around this most days.
It's a pretty route and popular with local runners and tourist. You aren't allowed to take dogs/ bikes or buggies on the actual track as it's not that wide. However there is a lower wider track slightly down from it. It's a great spot to take a picture. Lots of people pull over on their bikes, park up and get a snap.
Easy to get to, great views from every angle, a great place of Central Park to see.

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“So beautiful”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Wow - it was winter when I went so it is full of ice where the lake normally is - but it is so beautiful! The view is stunning. Definitely a sight to see! I walked across the reservoir to get to the MET (museum) and it was a beautiful walk across Central Park.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Len M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Watch Out!”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The path around the reservoir is for runners so watch out for people running as they have the right of way. Strollers, bikes and dogs are prohibited. Just be aware and considerate of others as it gets very busy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir also viewed

 

Been to Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis Reservoir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing