We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible egg and bacon sandwich”

Viand Coffee Shop of 61st St
Ranked #44 of 476 Coffee & Tea in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery
Neighbourhood: Upper East Side
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“terrible egg and bacon sandwich”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

A sinle (if that) totally flat egg and perhaps half a strip of bacon for $6.95 - dry and tasteless. Also odd service with the waiter looming over us as if he needed the table and yet there were empty tables and no one waiting. Perhaps if you ordered something else although all seemed pricey and there certainly was no pleasant ambiance..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pretty N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    64
    18
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“couldn't wait to leave”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

maybe it was an off day...but other than taking out a turkey sandwich...this place is pitiful.
waiters are often rude and toast was black from overlooking.
when my husband sent it back...the waiter balked.
and it's dirty...look behind the counter.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank toastanhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“This is NY!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We're from Brooklyn. We lived in Manhattan. We are now sojourning in Florida, hopefully temporarily. For those who recognize the subtle story of Passover reference: 10 points!. We come back to visit NYC to make sure our boys don't become crackers and that our cortices don't atrophy. We stay at The Pierre. I make sure that we go to The Viand. It is a quintessential NYC coffee shop. George the owner is omnipresent. The turkey sandwich was named best in NYC for a reason. It's crazy good. The booths fit two anorexics comfortably. The counter is classic. One does not come here to linger over a demitasse. If you want that, go to The Regency for a power breakfast with, ugh!, TV producers. However, if want to feel the real power of NYC, the 1.21 gigawatts of the city, where real people stop on their way to changing the destiny of the world, then come to Viand. Bring the kids. This is NY, not Epcot, baby.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank takethecannoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pewaukee
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Breakfast”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

WE had a very good breakfast at the Viand Cafe. The service was excellent and the food was very good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place for breakfast.”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We came here for breakfast on the way to visit Central Park and it's obvious this place has a real local following as well as a tourist one. The food was yummy, the service was good and I was full for the rest of the day! Would definitely eat here again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mand1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Viand Coffee Shop of 61st St also viewed

 

Been to Viand Coffee Shop of 61st St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing