We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent place”
Review of Jimmy's bar

Jimmy's bar
Ranked #72 of 864 Nightlife in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Ohio
Level Contributor
471 reviews
291 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
“Decent place”
Reviewed 22 June 2014

A friend and I were out looking for a place to get a view of the city at night. We found The Jimmy and went to the top. The bar was okay, the view was okay.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ut_jd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    25
    7
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

we were there at May and the week time ,nothing was special.there were few people and the music was not so excited.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sale k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København
Level Contributor
42 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A must-go if in cocktail mood in South Village”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

Went there with a group of close colleagues on a warm night in the spring. Didn't know the place, but was quite amazed by this rooftop bar with a great view, really nice cocktails (that I had never heard of) and a posh feel to it. Surely felt under-dressed.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bjornvw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
546 reviews
170 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Avoid the rooftop bar”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

It's nice to have the outside space but the bar is very small and when the sun comes out and the bar is crowded you never get served. I only wanted beers but had to wait almost 45 minutes. The space isn't particularly great with a small plunge pool taking up most of the outdoor area. There's far better places.

Helpful?
Thank martynsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coram, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Holy crap...”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

By far, the nicest bar I've even been in. Getting to the bar is as easy as getting into an elevator which is exactly what you do from the Lobby of the St James hotel. The bar is modern and gorgeous. The views? Stunning. Simply incredible. The outside deck has a pool and some seating. The inside is small but has a decent amount of seating. There is even a fireplace! The bar opens at 5:30pm but I advise you to get there before 6:30pm because the place really packs out. The drinks are very expensive ($9 for a beer, $17 for a mixed drink) so we were one and done. But what better way is there to start the night than with a drink and a breath taking view from the rooftop bar of an amazing hotel in downtown Manhattan? Exactly.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank alcool17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's bar also viewed

 

Been to Jimmy's bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing